We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakwood Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jamiat Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveler rating
346
465
232
77
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
465
232
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicepool sidecentral locationbusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai marasecurityihgsafariconciergekicc
Filter
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Overall impression: I have an overall good impression of the Intercontinental Nairobi, Kenya. The hotel is already a littlte bit aged and all facilities not on the latest status. However everything on an aceeptable level and especially in Africa compared to others options in a very good shape.
Check-in: efficient and friendly
room: old style, with a nice bed as you always can expect in Intercontinetal hotels; TV is very small and quite old; no pay-tv is available
in-room service: efficient and acceptable food
bathroom: old but ok
Internet access at room available (free on Club level)
For business reason I would come back to this hotel. In overall I felt myself safe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel, after not having slept there for 11 years. I was told it was renovated. Well not my room. I frequently went there for dinner in the past, when they had an Indonesian Chef, ( Nugi) who was excellent and brought the level of dining up tremendously, but he too has moved on. Since I was flying from Congo to Nigeria via Kenya, I had to spend one night, which was paid for by the carrier Kenya Airways as it was a stopover. I was given a room that even the 2 star hotels in Nairobi would have better. A window, on the first floor that did not close, one clould walk into the room, via the garage. When I complained about this they would call me back but after 3 calls I gave up and did not sleep, as Nairobi is not the most safe place any more. The check in and out is still as slow and louzy as always, so after thinking this hotel had improved, it is still just the crew joint of Nairobi with a loud bar full of crew and prostetites and the hang out for local politics. No loneger an option for me for business or leisure!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a group visiting the safaris in Kenya

Pros
- One of the very few international large-scale chain hotels in Kenya (I believe the rest are Crowne Plaza, Hilton and this)
- Close to city center and the parliament
- Service was friendly
- Lots of airline crew stays here, so something must be done right
- Dinner at the Indian restaurant was very good with a very complete and delicious BBQ buffet

Cons
- A major dissatisfaction I have with this hotel is that it is quite worn out and desperately needs a renovation. The hotel room, decor feels like early 1990s and nothing has been done to keep it up, examples include

- Very old furnishings and decor
- Elevators that squeak sometimes
- Low headroom
- The exterior facade is very plain and looked more like a hospital than a hotel

- The security station that leads up from the curbside to the lobby simply exists like an ornament. People would go through the x-ray machines like the ones in the airport, and the machine beeps at everyone that passes through. There were no check up on people or baggage at all. It really is quite useless. However, note that there was not a moment I felt unsafe at all, as there are security patrols at the lobby and at the roadway, but what's the point of an x-ray machine if It is never used property anyways
- Internet was EXTREMELY slow. From in-room access, it would take 2 minutes to load a page, and around 30 seconds in the lobby. It is completely unacceptable.
- No turndown service - which I thought was a standard feature in all Intercon hotels
- English skills of restaurant hosts can be improved. There were always some kind of misunderstanding due to the language barrier
- Room size were small (around 30 sqm) and all city-views
- Bathroom was small and dated, and water temperature was quite hot even when turned on the coolest side
- TV in room were still the old-large types, and not plasma/flatscreen that should be
- Beds were quite firm and not uncomfortable
- Staffing at front desk were not adequate leading to long lines during most hours

I have stayed at many Intercontinental Hotels before, and this definitely does not pass as an Intercontinental brand. It is in desperate need of a major renovation, inside and out. It would have been better if they called it the Holiday Inn instead.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: high floors
Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

stayed here for work, just for a couple days. we got a great corporate rate, which was a nice touch. The Fairmont down the road , doesnt have corporate rates..so we came to the Intercon. good business hotel, but the internet is deadly slow..be warned. breakfast is sorta ok..dated...hotel could use a refurb. would stay here again though. Choices are limited in Africa...you take what you can get.

Room Tip: Smile when checking in. ;)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecameradude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Though hotel gets the job done, in dire need of a spruce up. It seems stuck decades ago. Hotel rooms are OK. Picture a IC hotel room circa 1990 and you get the idea.

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant - took an hour for the appetizers to arrive, another 45 mins for the main course; even though there were only two tables (including ours). Food was good though.

Hotel is in the middle of the central area, looks like lots of government buildings around the hotel. There´s a craft market on Saturdays about 3 blocks away which is an adventure in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews