We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours but no more !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in the Parklands area of Nairobi on two seperate occasions at the beginning and end of a safari trip.
As aa quick overnight stop the hotel is fine....clean comfortable and reasonably close to the city centre but it has one huge drawback NOISE !!
Both rooms that we stayed in were totally ill equipped to deal with the noise of traffic outside and the constant honking of horns at all hours of the day
The rooms do not have double glazing and given the fact that the this may be difficult to fit to the buiding without spoiling it I feel that secondary glazing inside should be fitted to all rooms as a matter of priority

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 952 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2009

Located in a safe area of Nairobi, lots of history (used to be called Mayfair), visited it a lot during my six months stay in Nairobi in 2007. Great sun downers too!

Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
Thank BellaR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Its a nice place to hold conferences....
and very conformtable

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed just the one night after landing in Nairobi the roads to the hotel are terrible especially in the dark! However, we found the hotel spacious, nicely laid out with attractive garden/Pool area you over looked having breakfast which was a good spread. I would happily stay here again. The hotel had secure parking and restaurant attached (we did not get a chance to try it out) All in all a good stop over

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I had a pleasant stay at Holiday Inn. The hotel staff provided good service and I felt both welcome and at ease with their professional attitude. Very good and friendly staff in the reception - except for the one which managed to spoil the whole experience.

-If you insist I will of course pay for the rest of the laundry, I said and signed the bill. This was after suggesting that the laundry I received was not up to the standard I expected. I was about to leave the hotel at around 1pm earlier today.

I had delivered some clothes for laundry in the morning, and I had received the clothes 5 hours later - express service. But in fact, it looked like someone forgot my laundry and then as a last minute effort ironed my trousers and hung my t-shirts on a hanger. Stains which would easily go off during washing were still on my trousers. The t-shirts did not smell fresh. I did not inspect my socks and underwear presented in a separate bag. I was in a hurry. So while checking out I said my confidence in the washing was less than good, and that I would rather not pay for something which was not up to the expected standard. I really can live with housekeeping making a mistake, we all do.

What I can not deal with is the receptionists attitude. I felt that the receptionist did not believe me, and that I would have to present my (dirty) laundry for her to prove my case. She also insisted on the housekeeping guy coming to the reception to explain himself. I really would not like to end up in the middle of internal matters, and asked her twice to refrain from this before she complied. What was the idea of this? A public reprimande from me, or her? Or a discussion about what to expect when requesting clotehs to be washed? A seminar about housekeeping skills and how not to treat a customer?

The reception was filling up and I had to accept three or four people listening in on my discussion about my laundry.

Since I had not inspected the bag with underwear I had to pay for that service. I again strongly suggested that this was not the standard I had expected, but the difficulties of making changes to the bill were mountainous. -If you insist, I said, and paid the 645 Kenyan Shillings ($8) for washing a pair of socks and one piece of underwear. Come to think of it, either they're very expensive, or I paid for the whole thing!

I would still go there again. I will not let this one person destroy my otherwise very good experience of this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here for one night in late September 2009 and had a day room in early October.

Kuoni and The Travel Collection use this hotel as the start and finish points for their safaris.

The hotel has two restaurants, a bar, a business area and a small shop.

The rooms were clean and a decent size; on our second visit the shower was slightly more powerful, although both bathrooms could to with an upgrade.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on the first day of our holiday before setting out on safari. We’d expected this to just be a city hotel, but found the surroundings much more spacious, with beautiful gardens and a lovely pool. The room was pleasant with all the facilities you would want. The Golden Spur Restaurant had beautiful steak, which we also enjoyed when we stopped here on our way through Nairobi after the safari. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also found this a good base for a trip to see Karen Blixen’s house and the Giraffe Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDnBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,101 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $197 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Mayfair Is One Of Nairobi's Best Known Landmarks That First Enjoyed Its Heyday In 1940's Colonial Kenya. It Has Been Extensively Refurbished To Provide Modern Facilities, Yet Retains The Understated Charm And Elegance Of Yesteryear. The Hotel Is Situated Close To The City Centre And Only 20km From Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We Welcome Guests To Experience The Traditional Warmth And Hospitality For Which Both Kenya And Southern Sun Are Renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing