We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My spouse and I stayed at this hotel on twice as a stop over after and before our flights. It's not far from the airport, although with traffic it can take a long time to get there. Once we arrived, we found the staff to be very welcoming and the rooms to be very comfortable. We stayed in 2 different sections, one was a bit more modern although they were both very comfortable with adequate bathrooms and soft bedding with plenty of pillows. There are no screens, but we didn't need to open windows and didn't have a problem with mosquitoes although there was a spray available in the room. There are no bed nets although other hotels do provide these at time. During a warmer time of year this might be a problem. The grounds of the hotel are filled with plants and flowers and there are 2 pools. One has a restaurant by it where they serve breakfast and other meals. The breakfast was amazing, with several stations to make pancakes or eggs to order. There was also plenty of fresh fruit as well as other warm breakfast treats. It was very professional and friendly service at breakfast. On our final stay we had a very early flight and needed to eat an hour before standard hours. We mentioned this hoping they would give us some croissants or something in the morning. They told us to just come down early and we were amazed to find a couple of others there already and the full spread already out for early risers. The property can provide for all your needs as they have some small shops and restaurants open late. They do charge a lot for bottled water, but it was nice to know that we had plenty available and that they were willing to take US $ so we didn't have to change money. If we return to Nairobi, we will stay here again and hope to have a longer stay if we do.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 944 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

I was there for a wedding and stayed in holiday inn for 4days. over all experience was v.good.
the staff was very nice and always showed courtsey. food / pool side/gym/ reciption area and the bar was v.nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank easylife_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Beautiful grounds that give a more relaxing feel to your stay in Nairobi. Would certainly recommend the hotel to other tourists visiting or passing through Nairobi. Location is ideal as it is away from the manic Nairobi CBD. Rooms are of an acceptable standard for this class of hotel. Look out for the monkey if you stay in any of the rooms close to the main car park - it is known to get into the rooms if your window is left open and room is unattended!

Staff can be a bit aloof/unhelpful at times and at over US$200 per night, rates are a bit steep.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed here for one day before returning to the UK. For a Holiday Inn (western chain hotel) it was very good - not like a Holiday Inn in the USA or Europe - much better!

I'd be happy to stay here longer.

If you have children (or prefer more privacy) use te "Mischief" pool as it's more secluded; the main pool is directly in front of a restaurant.

Oh yes, avoid a room in the central courtyard as the frogs around the Carp pool are extremely noisy at night!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtzgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Somewhat old fashioned but well maintained. Compared to the more standardized Holiday Inns especially in the US this hotel had a very nice local touch with nice gardens, breakfast by the pool and friendly but slow staff.

The rooms had no AC but a fan, simple windows without mosquito screen and also no mosquito net over the bed. Fortunately I observed just one mosquito in two days so the exposure was low.

Reception was staffed with beautiful, friendly but slow girls, lacking some training.

Overall not to bad, finally this is part of the African experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedster1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. The rooms are clean but the bathrooms need new tiles, bathtubs and toilets. The rate of USD 200 per night was expensive for the standard of the rooms. The hotel has beautiful gardens. High Speed internet connection was functioning at all times but very expensive. The location, away from the city centre, was convenient for my business trip as it avoided having to spend more than a few minutes in the Nairobi traffic jams every morning.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Serin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Although I have only been in the Holiday Inn for 3 nights now, I have really enjoyed my stay there so far. I will be there for a total of 10 nights and will return later in February for a few more nights. There are two pools with adequate lounge chairs. The Oasis restaurant has a great breakfast buffett - fruit, variety of breads, omelets, juices, etc. The price of it is included with your stay. There is live music there Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. It wasn't obnoxiously loud and they played a variety of music. The other restaurant is more Westernized. They had hamburger night last night, but I missed it. Although I did have the chicken quesadillas over the weekend and they were tasty. The hotel staff is very nice and although the rooms are a little small, I don't mind because its clean. There are not a lot of TV channels, but they have shown a few decent newer movies. Also there is a good Chinese restaurant, Peppers, right across the street. All in all my stay has been very nice and so far I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scaprino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
939 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $180 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Mayfair Is One Of Nairobi's Best Known Landmarks That First Enjoyed Its Heyday In 1940's Colonial Kenya. It Has Been Extensively Refurbished To Provide Modern Facilities, Yet Retains The Understated Charm And Elegance Of Yesteryear. The Hotel Is Situated Close To The City Centre And Only 20km From Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We Welcome Guests To Experience The Traditional Warmth And Hospitality For Which Both Kenya And Southern Sun Are Renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing