We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second Visit to Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Second Visit to Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have to travel at times for work and this was my second trip to Kenya. Having stayed in this hotel once before, I knew what to expect. The food is always fantastic, the atmosphere is nice and the staff are amazing here. On this trip, one of the hotel staff was determined to teach me some Swahili - something that I thought was fantastic.

The room that I stayed in wasn't as nice as the first and would suggest that some of the bathrooms could do with refurbishment. That written, my overall experience at this hotel is very, very positive. This place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSinger_ch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    320
    76
    30
    5
See reviews for
97
138
49
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have Stayed here 4 or more times over the last 18 months.

the staff are friendly the standard is consistent with southern sun hotels around Africa & is a generally comfortable place to stay.

Ideally located in mid-Westlands near several malls & near most businesses. this is a decent & ideal stay for a quick trip through Nairobi.

Room Tip: the rooms near the pool are nice and quiet, although a bit of a far walk. the rooms near the confere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorzinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. It feels like an oasis...lots of trees, water and a gentle vibe. Staff are friendly, food is excellent and the rooms are very well appointed. The walk to breakfast (by the pool) I a great start to the day. An excellent business hotel without that glossy insincerity you find in major chains. Oh...and it comes complete with a pond full of tiny whistling frogs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lots of mosquitoes in my room, tiny room for a huge price. Large and noisy fan in the ceiling. Insects entering the room at night. TV pictures are not neat and channel list is poor.
The staff is cool and professional but the facilities are really old.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanigui Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are most disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and we extend our sincerest apologies for the experience you had with mosquitoes in your room - our Housekeeping Department have since put corrective measures and procedures in place to ensure maximum comfort for our Guests.

Your comments regarding our rooms have been constructively communicated to our Development Team for consideration. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My stay at the Mayfair was extended for one day at the request of my client, , and all arrangements were made via my travel agent to spend the Tuesday night as well, and leave early Wednesday. However, when I got to my room at 20h00 on Tuesday night, so exhausted after a hard day's work and a successful project wrapped up, that I could perish, I found my bedroom locked. I was told by the hotel attendant to go and sort things out at reception. It was clear that their system had me as a trespasser and was not updated with the changed booking detail. At that point I was so furious and exhausted that I burst out in tears and threatened to sleep there and then in front of my door. The attendant relented and went to have my door card re-installed. Upon leaving the next morning at 5h00 I found that my safety box with my passport and travel documents inside was also locked and had, once again, to ask for assistance. I have yet to receive an apology for the trauma and upset which is due to the hotel's system obviously not being in sync with the travel agency. This has left such a poor taste in my mouth that it blew in smithereens the positive experience I had beforehand. The way I feel now, I would definitely request my client to book me anywhere else but at the Mayfair in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Thank you for taking my telephone call this afternoon, it was a pleasure to chat to you.

We will certainly approach the Travel Agent concerned to ascertain why we did not receive notification of your extended stay prior to your departure date and we will resolve the issue to ensure this does not happen again. Please note that without prior notification of your extended stay your Room Key will expire on the original departure date for security reasons. Furthermore, we have since resolved the issue you experienced with your in room safe.

Once again, we thank you for your most valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights from the 2 - 7 of June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay and the service was very efficient. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Avi_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to Kenya and was very surprised at this small but very cozy hotel. Full of gardens that surround your way to the room. The room was fully equipped, internet was fast, and size of room and bathroom were ok. Hotel personnel very friendly and willing to help at once. The best was the included breakfast, since it is served in the restaurant by the pool, what makes it very relaxing, and the quality and the quantity of the food were excellent as well.
One of the restaurant that serves the hotel "The Golden Spur" has great food and drinks and the atmosphere was really good. I really recommend this hotel, that is below price of other considered "top hotels", but it offers the same confort and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ETB and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing