We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights from the 2 - 7 of June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay and the service was very efficient. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Avi_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 923 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to Kenya and was very surprised at this small but very cozy hotel. Full of gardens that surround your way to the room. The room was fully equipped, internet was fast, and size of room and bathroom were ok. Hotel personnel very friendly and willing to help at once. The best was the included breakfast, since it is served in the restaurant by the pool, what makes it very relaxing, and the quality and the quantity of the food were excellent as well.
One of the restaurant that serves the hotel "The Golden Spur" has great food and drinks and the atmosphere was really good. I really recommend this hotel, that is below price of other considered "top hotels", but it offers the same confort and service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel gives exellent value for money and is well located. The service is exellent, the rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is very good, the staff very friendly. The management is always availible and ready to assist.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi this past week for four days, and it is one of the more pleasant hotels to stay at in Nairobi. The service is very good and the meals are very good, especially in a town where many of the meals could be considered average, or even below average. I was made to feel welcome at all times. The scenery inside the hotel is very pretty and the layout of the hotel provides a reasonable privacy, which is not always easy to come by. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the garden. There are two large pools in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freewanderingspiirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Overall good experience of stay in the hotel. Courteous staff, good service delivery,Decent food and accomodation- in short, value for money.Good memories for a repeat.Highly Recommended for both business and leisure travel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Alok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, even though short -the service received was impeccable, the meals were generally excellent (apart from the grilled chicken)I ordered one of the nights. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a terrible night, the room was dirty, we ordered food but it took so long for it to be delivered in our room, when my husband went to check on the food, he was harassed by the prostitutes at the bar, I don't think I will waste my money there again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Jeanner2

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of service delivery you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that this is certainly not the level of service delivery that we pride ourselves on. Your husband's experience at our Bar has prompted an investigation as we are most concerned regarding this matter.

We sincerely hope that you will reconsider your decision not to return to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and I respectfully request that should you decide to do so, that you contact me directly in order that I can personally facilitate your reservation and ensure that you enjoy our standards and hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
924 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
949 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $187 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Mayfair Is One Of Nairobi's Best Known Landmarks That First Enjoyed Its Heyday In 1940's Colonial Kenya. It Has Been Extensively Refurbished To Provide Modern Facilities, Yet Retains The Understated Charm And Elegance Of Yesteryear. The Hotel Is Situated Close To The City Centre And Only 20km From Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We Welcome Guests To Experience The Traditional Warmth And Hospitality For Which Both Kenya And Southern Sun Are Renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing