We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This is my third stay here which says something.

I travel alone on business. the rooms are small but adequate for me alone. The rooms in the block next to the second swimming pool.. 14 + tend to be better than those in other blocks having a wardrobe rather than just hanging rail.

The staff are extremely helpful... more so thatn the intercontinental where i have stayed in the past.

I would say for a business trip,,.....great!

Romaintic holiday, you could proably do better

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    379
    102
    34
    6
See reviews for
118
177
57
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn in Nairobi many times and I have always enjoyed my stay. Some times I stay as long as two weeks at a time and it has a homey feel, much better than the Intercon or Serena. Spurs Steak House is attached and the food is pretty good, but after a couple of days I get tired of the same menu. The good thing about the Holiday Inn is that there are other restaurants close so I had some variety. I am returning next month for another two week stay. The staff is helpful and friendly and with the Westlands Mall a couple of blocks away there are places to shop, buy groceries and coffee shops to sit and people watch,

  • Liked — Homeyness and location
  • Disliked — Street Noise, but only on the front side of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipCourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Negatives first. My room was a little basic, and the bathroom even more so; but I wasn't in Nairobi to spend time in my room. The hotel has a warm, colonial feel to it. It is quite large but spread over a extensive site. Security is taken seriously, which is reassuring. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The poolside eating area is great, particualry at breakfast time, when there is an impressive spread. I found the staff very obliging, particulary Soloman, the deputy manager. The Wednesday night cocktail party is a great idea, when everybody is issued with a national flag and encouraged to mingle. I liked this place and if I get the opportunity, I will use it again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The hotel has a lovely colonial feel to it. The rooms are spacious and the pool large. The gym is adequate. There are two restaurants a Spur with bar and a poolside area. Both were fine. The bathroom could do with a makeover; the shower was around 30 years old as was the toilet seat.
Staff were friendly and attentive.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I usually stay elsewhere when in Nairobi for business, but I was booked into the Holiday Inn by a travel agent. Surprisingly comfortable and very good breakfast. Nairobi is expensive (for decent accommodations) and the Holiday Inn has lovely grounds and was clean and convenient. I have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

There are some truly lovely hotels in Kenya. The Holiday Inn is not one of them. I chose the hotel because of the location. The nicer hotels, such as The Serena, are in town and so stuck in the traffic nightmare that is downtown Nairobi. The Holiday Inn is between Westlands and Parklands, so it's near many restaurants, bars, etc.

Apart from the location, the hotel was such a disappointment. The rooms are old, there was virtually no water pressure in the showers (I've had better showers in tents in the middle of the bush!), and the noise was ridiculous. The doors slam non-stop (mostly from the cleaning staff), you can hear people through the walls, etc.

Two redeeming qualities: The gym is fantastic, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Other than those two qualities, this hotel is definitely not worth the ridiculous price.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColHeightsChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Got at first a terrible room smelling from paint. Not possible to stay there, so I switched to another, bigger one, in the main building. Same thing occurred to a colleague of mine. Can't understand how they could sell those rooms?

We switched to the Intercontinental after just 1 night's stay, which was a really good choice. It was like coming to castle -- from a cottage. In fact, the rate was lower at the Intercontinental as well. Thus I have some difficulties understanding how the Holiday Inn here @ TA is higher rated than the Intercontinental.

Note that there is no AC, just a ceiling fan.

Quite nice steak restaurant attached to Holiday Inn, called Spurs? Quite some additional obvious traffic there than just food & beer.

Like the breakfast viewing the pool area. Try the delicious pancakes!

  • Liked — The breakfast pancakes
  • Disliked — Overall bad value in comparison with other alternatives -- in same price range
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank svensktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,007 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing