We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Southern Sun Mayfair 4 times for work. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the staff professional, nice and responsive. The breakfast and gym are good.

Even though the hotel is very nice, the rates are a bit excessive for what it is (USD299/night). Also, the dinner menu is a bit limited (especially if you're a vegetarian), and the water bottles provided are ridiculously small (and wasteful).

I would definitely recommend this hotel, assuming your budget allows for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    350
    93
    33
    5
See reviews for
113
165
54
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night as the road to our hol apt was blocked by rain and was trapped for hrs....we decided to try and turn back and this was the only hotel nearby ......the night staff was very helpful in accommodating and understanding us as we had no documents on us.....the room was comfortable and clean with free wifi....a very relaxing night .Breakfast was really awesome by the poolside and the staff was helpful....gardens were lush and the a relaxing atmosphere... its well situated as not far away from wetlands n the city itself...... We had a meal at the Mayfair restaurant ....STEAK N CHIPS......That steak was out of this world a very big portion soft n succulent served with lots of salad ect ect ...it's unbeliably tasty and you will never b able to finish it,the staff there also are ever so attentive and friendly... if in nairobi go and hav the steak as you will never regret it......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglequeen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days and I could never have been happier. Excellent service. Top class.
Very friendly staff, good room service. The Oasis restaurant here is my favourite. When I was to leave very early for my flight I was given a pleasant surprise by the staff. They have readily packed breakfast that I carried along.
The Wi-Fi here could do better though.
Well furnished rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Quiet location and a peaceful atmosphere. Very pleasant rooms. What I like best about this hotel is the poolside location for meetings, meals and drinks later in the day.

On the first two occasions that I visited here I had arrived on the overnight flight from Ghana and was at the hotel by 7am. Despite the hotel having a normal check-in time policy of 2pm, but without even having to ask, I was taken to my room without having to pay an extra fee. It’s service like that that makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed three nights in this nice hotel near Nairobi city centre. Nice rooms in a two store building surrounded by a nice park like garden. Breakfast is good incl. a large variety of warm and cold food., fresh juice etc. Being on a business trip I have not had time to use pool, spar etc.
I can fully recommend the hotel and will come again.

Room Tip: Room to the inner garden side in the ground floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haukeberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a nice hotel for our stay in Nairobi. It has a colonial feel and architecture with lush green lawns and good facilities. The pricing and standard room sizes appear to be more geared towards business traveller, however, the location is odd (couldnt quite make out the lay of the area around the hotel) and quite a distance from the key office and business areas. The approach is also poor and the main entrance very oddly placed. I thought that the choice of bathroom toiletteris were odd for a five-star property. Even the layout of the rooms across the property takes a little getting used to and we lost our way a few times when trying out a new path to our rooms. Hence the ample use of the word Odd in my review!!
The good parts of the property were - silence, helpful staff and service, lawns, two pools, a great buffet breakfast and for the meat-lovers a nice grill/steak house. While the property would be a great option for a family with kids, the pricing and room sizes may not fit in. I wish it could coz would love to visit again with my family.

Room Tip: Pool facing, away from the reception, if you like it quiet and don't mind the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Traveling on business. Friendly staff really went out of their way to help. Food at evening buffet is excellent and breakfast is good. Highly recommend for business. Good venues for casual meetings and nice conference rooms too. Wifi in rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mooks W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Property: Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing