We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a few oddities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a nice hotel for our stay in Nairobi. It has a colonial feel and architecture with lush green lawns and good facilities. The pricing and standard room sizes appear to be more geared towards business traveller, however, the location is odd (couldnt quite make out the lay of the area around the hotel) and quite a distance from the key office and business areas. The approach is also poor and the main entrance very oddly placed. I thought that the choice of bathroom toiletteris were odd for a five-star property. Even the layout of the rooms across the property takes a little getting used to and we lost our way a few times when trying out a new path to our rooms. Hence the ample use of the word Odd in my review!!
The good parts of the property were - silence, helpful staff and service, lawns, two pools, a great buffet breakfast and for the meat-lovers a nice grill/steak house. While the property would be a great option for a family with kids, the pricing and room sizes may not fit in. I wish it could coz would love to visit again with my family.

Room Tip: Pool facing, away from the reception, if you like it quiet and don't mind the walk.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 908 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Traveling on business. Friendly staff really went out of their way to help. Food at evening buffet is excellent and breakfast is good. Highly recommend for business. Good venues for casual meetings and nice conference rooms too. Wifi in rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mooks W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my first visit to Nairobi , Kenya on business and upon arrival at the hotel their was a misunderstanding on my booking dates which could have resulted in me looking for alternative hotel arrangements.( hotel was fully booked )
My position was over heard by the Front Office Manager Mr Elisha Katam who stepped in and proceeded to assist in sorting something out , an hour later i was told that they have organised a room for me and no need to worry any further, this to me is service and thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at this hotel , i will certainly stay their again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lloyd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my second visit this hotel is not the best but by far not the worst.
The grounds are lovely with the gardens and little water features the pool is nice and the lunchtime pool menu is lovely.
We always eat at the diner attached to the hotel the burgers and steaks are great.
The rooms are spacious and clean but can get noisy at times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms were old and musty. The beds were very uncomfortable and the service was indifferent at best. Trying to get coffee in the morning at the hotel was a constant battle. It used to be a holiday inn and it is not what I would call "comfortable." It does have the benefit of being outside city center which helps avoid some traffic but not all. I cannot recommend anything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

To start with, this hotel is very expensive, they may say they have renovated the rooms however they left few things to renovate. The bathroom fittings are very old and you will struggle to get water from the shower.
They provide the tea maker in the room however looking inside the same you would never want to make tea in that.
Rooms are very small when compared to the prices they charge.

Taxis are easliy available outside the hotel, there is a taxi stand opposite and if you want hotel can pay on your behalf and charge you on your room.

Hotel is otherwise very green and not like any big building but only 2 floors in an expanse with gardens around.
Gym has 3 treadmills and similar no. of cycles so I would say well equipped.
Breakfast is okay, they can make eggs the way you like and has pan cakes as well if you like the way they make it. pastries and croissants are not of very good quality.

As for location, it is quite good if your work is around westland area of Nairobi. It takes around 25 mins to reach hotel from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varunsdua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel has good grounds and service. Rooms are standard, with no-frills but clean and good beds. The room I had though had terrible sound insulation. The rooms is next to service door that was being used all night long and making really loud sounds. It was really hard to sleep. I would recommend the hotel but not that room (333). Stay away from it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marconegao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
913 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
927 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $191 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing