We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
439
421
112
40
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
421
112
40
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innspur restaurantgolden spurpoolside restaurantcolonial stylean oasisbreakfast and dinnerpool sidebusiness tripbusy citymasai marahome away from homesafarifrogsgymwestlandsambience
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Simply the best place to stay in nairobi, westlands, easy access to Westlands properties and not miles away from city centre. Wifi works like a dream. staff are superb!General manager is "awesome" for lack of a better word. there is no such thing as NO. Best value for money. Not sure why more safari companies are not using it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndoroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed here twice...am actually writing this from my room right now. It is a beautiful, colonial era hotel. The courtyard is the scenic highlight of the place: giant old trees, a nice pool, bar and restaurant by the pool. I really like the first floor rooms that have French doors opening to the courtyard. And the staff has been wonderful at every turn. Friendly, courteous, helpful at every turn. The cost is lower or the same as other hotels in the area that are lower quality and lack the charm. It has been renovated so you have nice amenities, but the classic feel was carefully maintained. I'm looking forward to coming back here with my wife.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor rooms which have patios on the courtyard. Not as private (if that's your preference) but great scenery.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed for 3 hours at the hotel. Surely it was good but the price for 1 night it is unacceptable. Surely it is not value of money. I hope they can decrease their price. I wish to go back in the first journey.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank feysalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Mayfair is a beautiful hotel, especially for Nairobi. Nairobi hotels are in general outrageously expensive for what you get, compared to most other developing country cities. However, the Mayfair made up for the price with a combination of beautiful public areas and gardens, outstanding and friendly staff, excellent breakfast and reasonably nice room. The hotel is also in a very convenient area for Nairobi, allowing one to even walk around a bit - a true rarity! It is located within walking distance of Sarit Center and Westgate Mall, with a good souvenir stall complex on the way. It would also be walking distance to the museum and downtown, but we were advised that this direction is too dangerous. However, it is easy and cheap (plus a fun local experience - for a short distance, anyways) to take one of the matatu shared buses. Overall, an surprisingly good experience in Nairobi!

Room Tip: If you value your sleep, as for a room away from the road, from the primary pool and from the frogs. Plus newly renovated and on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigDiveNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A really great place in such controversual city as Nairobi is - qiuet, green while close to the center and main roads. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Quality of the food requires a special remark. We were group of 6 planned to start safari next day upon arrival to Nairobi, but decided to stay in the hotel one more day - to celebrate New Year 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andriy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews