We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Yes the rooms are a little tired but nevertheless we had a good nights sleep. We just wanted a night in Nairobi prior to going on safari and this hotel ticked all the boxes. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The bar staff equally so, the restaurant staff too and the food was really good, what it said on the tin bar food. One real niggle is there were people just sitting out at the tables on the patio which was set up for diners clearly using it for smoking, we moved tables to avoid one very annoying woman virtually chain smoking who didn't appear to consume anything.

Breakfast served by the pool was a great start to the day and our Kenyan adventures and they literally had too much food to mention, great service too.

Overall I would be more than happy to visit this hotel again, it was great value for money and a great stop off point.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 908 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in the hotel on the 10th December. The hotel was comfortable if not a little tired, unlike the staff who were very attentive and extremely courteous and helpful.The location although adjacent to a busy main road was like a tranquil oasis with little or no noise from the street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloughie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at a number of hotels in Nairobi, albeit sometime back. This was my first stay at the Southern Sun Mayfair. The Hotel is pleasant and comparable to the Fairview where I usually stay. What makes the Hotel stand out in my opinion is the staff - very friendly and pretty efficient. Will definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I liked quite a lot about this hotel other than my hotel room. The room itself was tired and in need of a refurb.. Ancient old carpet over parquet floor, old TV. And then we had some rain which meant that at 4 AM I was moving all my stuff around the room to stop it getting wet as the roof was leaking. Possibly unusual but not very impressive.
Other than that I liked the staff, I liked the poolside restaurant and the general atmosphere.

Room Tip: Avoid room 210
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetalPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I could smoothly check-in at around 10 am without extra costs as I arrived in Nairobi early in the morning. The room for two of us was reasonably sized with a very comfortable double bed and a standard quality bathroom. The room was equipped with a modern air-conditioner and a very loosely attached ceiling fan (which looked very dangerous when switched on). There was no information about wi-fi access but I was given an ID and password after speaking to the reception.
I had buffet style breakfast in the dining room which was located right next to one of the swimming pools in the hotel. The quality of breakfast was reasonable and the staff was very attentive and efficient.
Probably one of the best hotels in Nairobi but cannot expect anything of a global high standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pong_Chang226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An excellent hotel in the middle of Nairobi.
As a businessman, I need a hotel that is clean, efficient and I am comfortable in.
There are probably better hotels but you will pay more for them than they are really worth.
I don't feel this about the Southern Sun.

This is the second time I have stayed here and I would go back time and time again.
You can only eat in the Spur once or twice, so you knowing one or two good restaurants nearby is a good idea.
The hotel restaurant is a hotel restaurant and there is nothing wrong with it, but there are better restaurants in Nairobi which are close enough to use.

The staff are excellent, very obliging and will help you as much as they can.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The highlight is the setting; with gardens, greenery, swimming, and a nice gated escape from the busy streets. My room was clean and fine, but nothing special. I had an air conditioner, but check that your room will have one when you reserve (apparently not all rooms have AC). Breakfast was a very good buffet. The fitness centre was quite good too. It also seems to have a nice bar + restaurant (although I did not visit/use them). I would certainly consider staying there again which is often the best compliment. Liked the free wifi.

Room Tip: Make sure your reserved room will have air conditioning (because not all do - yet)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
914 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
929 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $191 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing