We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gardens in beautiful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The gardens are exceptionally great, providing a more relaxing environment, the rooms have good views. I liked to see the golden fish swimming! The reception team is welcoming and swiftly attend to your needs.

Room Tip: Its a place that give time and space to imagine and retrospect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kausipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 937 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Excellent location for bars, restaurants and access to the city. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms in need of a refurb - paper peeling off walls and a but drab! Lovely pool and grounds. Restaurant over priced and wine very expensive

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

excellent hotel but would be good if they had heaters in the months of July and August when the nights are cold! The rooms near the main pathway are noise, especially in the mornings when guests are checking out. The dragging of bags on that uneven walkway is very irritating especially in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent a night here after our safari, had a lovely stay, great atmosphere, close to shopping centres, frogs singing in the gardens... :)
We didn't try the food unfortunatelly, as our flight was too early, but I am sure it was as good as all the service provided!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StickyLicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is not very big but it's quite nice and cozy with 2 swimming pools and average sized rooms. The hotel is located in Westlands which is not very far from the international airport. There is a choice between 2 restaurants, one is continental and the other has steaks. The staff at the hotel is quite friendly. The rent of the room of the hotel as of September 2011 is $200 for a single room/night and $350 for double room/night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor facing the pool and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on they way to the safari and back. Both nights the service was pleasent, friendly and prompt (although the restaurant was very slow with the a la carte on the second night). I did give feedback on the moskito bites which my wife got during both nights (had none during 6 nights on the safari). Giving this high recommendation ist due to the overall impression and good feeling during the stay. Especially however, the receptions managers ability to handle my constructive feedback was very professional. I guess that is the basis for a constantly improving service and a good basis for my recommendation.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

ecently I was in Nairobi and stayed at the Southern Sun Hotel, the atmosphere and ambiance was tremendous, the Hotel GM goes out of his way to make your stay pleasent, and even has a networking cocktail function for all business people within the hotel on a Wednesday evening. I can recommendthis hotel to all people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
930 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
961 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,301 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $178 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Mayfair Is One Of Nairobi's Best Known Landmarks That First Enjoyed Its Heyday In 1940's Colonial Kenya. It Has Been Extensively Refurbished To Provide Modern Facilities, Yet Retains The Understated Charm And Elegance Of Yesteryear. The Hotel Is Situated Close To The City Centre And Only 20km From Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We Welcome Guests To Experience The Traditional Warmth And Hospitality For Which Both Kenya And Southern Sun Are Renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing