We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Oxy Rich Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Ranked #4 of 114 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Karura Forest Reserve is an urban upland forest on the outskirts of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. This remarkable geographical location and natural resource is one of the largest gazetted forests in the world fully within a city limits. It covers an area of about 1,000 ha (2,500 ac) and today is a shining example of how country-based corporate social responsibility and individual philanthropy can serve to secure and protect a country's natural resources. The forest offers eco-friendly opportunities for Kenyans and visitors to enjoy a leafy green respite from the hustle and bustle of the city to walk, to jog, or simply to sit quietly and experience the serenity of nature in all its diversity.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oxy Rich Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everything is just fantastic about a walk in Karura Forest. We went to the quieter side of Karura which was absolutely fantastic. Fresh scents of Eucalyptus, extremely lots of oxygen, colobus monkeys in the forest and a fantastic 4 km trek.

Visited January 2014
2 Thank PankajMoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Natural Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Karura forest is one of the few forests remaining around Nairobi. It is a great experience to have a walk specially early in the morning and have a healthy walk or jogging while enjoying the nice trees and plantation and have a stop to enjoy the view of water fall. Try to avoid going late around noon to avoid heat. Have a bottle of water with you. Don't feed monkeys and enjoy the relaxing time. If you have dogs, there are dogs paths where they can enjoy running

Visited January 2014
2 Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“really nice walks in the forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

After living here so many years, we finally made time to go for a walk in karura forest with our dogs. It was really nice with marked out 5km, 10km and 12km trails. It's a large area so you don't feel like there are lot of people there. There are young ones riding their bicycles on the trails and stuff. I was a bit worried with our dogs because not everyone knows how to control their dogs and we saw two people being controlled by their dogs instead of the other way around. I would be wary about anyone with a dog especially if you went there with yours.

Visited January 2014
1 Thank Twaham0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Forest in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Karura Forest has few doors, where you can access it from different parts of Nairobi. Since it is very big, never feels over crowded, great sanctuary for weekends walk or run but still recommend not to go alone. Unfortunately facilities are old, poorly managed and unclean. There is a little fee to get in.

Visited November 2013
Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaruraFriends, Manager at Karura Forest, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We note that your visit was earlier this year. We have since cleaned up, improved and added additional toilet facilities. Obviously, for reasons of economy and eco-friendliness, the facilities in the forest are 'VIP' long-drops (Ventilated Improved Pit latrines), and our FKF Scouts are charged with checking and keeping them clean. On walking alone, the choice, of course, must be that of the individual. But in any one day, you can see numerous singletons of all ages and genders walking or running. So far -- touch wood -- there have been no issues since the founding of the Friends of Karura Forest in 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Was within walking distance of my hotel. Beautiful interior forest. Waterfall was stunning to sit and watch. Some animals (monkeys, birds). Take a small picnic and just relax for a few hours.

Visited January 2014
1 Thank AlvidaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing