We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Space to walk!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Ranked #4 of 114 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Karura Forest Reserve is an urban upland forest on the outskirts of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. This remarkable geographical location and natural resource is one of the largest gazetted forests in the world fully within a city limits. It covers an area of about 1,000 ha (2,500 ac) and today is a shining example of how country-based corporate social responsibility and individual philanthropy can serve to secure and protect a country's natural resources. The forest offers eco-friendly opportunities for Kenyans and visitors to enjoy a leafy green respite from the hustle and bustle of the city to walk, to jog, or simply to sit quietly and experience the serenity of nature in all its diversity.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Space to walk!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We live in Nairobi, and one of the things we miss is the opportunity for walking and riding bikes safely. Here it's perfect... A cross between the New Forest in Hampshire England and Cannock Chase in Staffordshire! It was peaceful, calm and lovely to walk in, our girls enjoyed the bike ride , although I would recommend leaving the bikes at h
One if its been raining recently, it can get very muddy, but the walks are fab, the waterfalls are amazing and it's a great place to escape to.

Visited July 2013
Thank LisaO634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to have a good 15km walk or run..peaceful with all that fresh air from the tall trees around..great dog walk place too or a picnic place at the grounds.do not visit butterfly lake(no butterflies there,rather stagnant water)-enjoy the freshest air and go during weekend for more fun!

Visited May 2013
Thank Tashkins4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Fantastic green space in the middle of the city... maybe some more signage needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This forest was under threat from developers barely a few years ago, and its great to see that real efforts are being made to protect it, because its a haven of green salvation in the middle of Nairobi chaos. Signposting is not ideal - luckily I was with someone who knew the way, otherwise it could have been really confusing. The paths are walkable and in pretty good condition (probably less so when its been raining, since they are mostly mud / clay), but don't trust the wooden handrails around the waterfalls - they are a little rickety! In all, a great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hiking Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were dropped off there and later picked up by our taxi driver. The walk through the forest was fresh and beautiful. We saw people carrying firewood bundles on their heads that reminded me of a travel mag photo or National Geographic. The waterfalls were beautiful and the hike back was nice. The trails are clear and wide and marked with directional arrows and signs.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank Bajadiver770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A jewel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top tip - buy (500s) / take a photo of the map - the sign posts are numbered and clear, but the path color routes are difficult to follow.

What a find - this is a great place for a walk just outside the centre of Nairobi. The paths are easy to walk down and are suitable for walking, running or mountain biking. The waterfall is a must as part of your route. I went on a Friday and only saw 2 other people during the 4 hrs of walking.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank F14-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing