We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous Hiking Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Ranked #4 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Karura Forest Reserve is an urban upland forest on the outskirts of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. This remarkable geographical location and natural resource is one of the largest gazetted forests in the world fully within a city limits. It covers an area of about 1,000 ha (2,500 ac) and today is a shining example of how country-based corporate social responsibility and individual philanthropy can serve to secure and protect a country's natural resources. The forest offers eco-friendly opportunities for Kenyans and visitors to enjoy a leafy green respite from the hustle and bustle of the city to walk, to jog, or simply to sit quietly and experience the serenity of nature in all its diversity.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hiking Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were dropped off there and later picked up by our taxi driver. The walk through the forest was fresh and beautiful. We saw people carrying firewood bundles on their heads that reminded me of a travel mag photo or National Geographic. The waterfalls were beautiful and the hike back was nice. The trails are clear and wide and marked with directional arrows and signs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajadiver770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    195
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A jewel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top tip - buy (500s) / take a photo of the map - the sign posts are numbered and clear, but the path color routes are difficult to follow.

What a find - this is a great place for a walk just outside the centre of Nairobi. The paths are easy to walk down and are suitable for walking, running or mountain biking. The waterfall is a must as part of your route. I went on a Friday and only saw 2 other people during the 4 hrs of walking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank F14-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonder forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Its unbelievable to have such a fabulous forest in the middle of Nairobi. Dr Wangari Maathai did a great job to ensure the preservation of this great wonder.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barefoot_Gachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what a sanctuary. Who knew that you can be in the middle of Nairobi and feel like you're in the middle of the Knysna forest (back home in South Africa). No cars! No hooting horns!

The fact that non-residents are charged different rates (and that they want to sell you maps for KES500... so I just downloaded one on my phone) aside, I really enjoyed my walk though the forest. I did, however, see two small dumping grounds of rubbish (toner cartridges?!), which was not great. However, the walk down to the river was just what I needed to recharge. The forest appears popular for locals just coming for a walk / run as well.

Would have been great to have a bench here / there (especially at the waterfall), or a little kiosk selling snacks at the entrance perhaps. But if you plan poperly you won't get hungry :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1/2 day fauna and flora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The serenity environment was a breath taking. The beauty and sound from the forest habitats kept us guessing.oh!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnimalPassionSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing