We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great day out to clean your lungs :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oloolua Nature Trail

Oloolua Nature Trail
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great day out to clean your lungs :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Oloolua Nature Reserve is great - just down the road from Karen Blixen Museum (literally). We went with a large group of people and had a wonderful time. It's amazing that one can get lost in the beauty of these forests whilst actually just being a few kilometres away from the chaos that is Nairobi.

The trials are not marked clearly (that's the only reason why it did not get 5 out of 5, so it's good to take a guide with you if you are unfamiliar with the trail. There are a couple of picnic sites around (and loos), which makes it stand out over Karura in that respect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the place is awesome couldnt have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The caves,the waterfall and the picnic area waz very nice with adequet water with clean toilet.The guide who escorted us around was very knowlegdeable and gave us a lot of information that was required.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonitababez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oloolua Nature trail a beautiful safari for birding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The beautiful terrain and its good for bird lovers. I witnessed various types of birds and i would recommend this as an ornithological site for birders.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Beatiful getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The place is safe,private and a lot of fresh and cool air. Loved the water fall and the caves the walk inside the beautiful forest is amazing. kudos........loved the privacy more. need more sign boards though and more glass on the picnic site but everything else is awesome.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 294207Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“outdoor fun with my boo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

my boyfriend and i love the great outdoors. we love biking and were looking for a site to go cycle. we found oloolua and we ended up walking through the different posts and had a picnic at an eagle tower or whatever they called it but it was good. for people who love nature and trees, i recommend it. though there isnt much to see apart from a waterfall and the there is not much ecodiversity

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grapeNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oloolua Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to Oloolua Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing