We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic guest house in convenient location”
Review of ACK Guest House

ACK Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ACK Guest House
Ranked #36 of 278 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this Guest House in June 2013. My room was simple but clean. I could hear the people in the other rooms and the bathroom needed some serious upgrade. The shower had no pressure and really hard to adjust to a warm temperature. A copious breakfast is served in the main building but unfortunately every morning the radio was blasting "religious" sermons!!! We also had a very nice dinner for 12 dollars but beware no alcohol or beer are served!!
I paid 100 dollars for the room per night for 2 people and I think I could have had a better deal in a more modern hotel. The positive though is that there is a guard at the entrance and we felt really safe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroniqueFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for ACK Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

The setting around the facility is great and value for you money is great. Rooms are nice and well maintained and clean. Selection of food at the meals could use some improvement but food quality was fine. Screens in the windows would be a good idea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Basic but comfortable, staff really friendly and helpful, very secure with 24hour guards at gates, fantastic breakfast! If you are stopping through Nairobi this is ideal, although probably not ideal for those with very young families or seeking luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Though it is a far cry from luxury, the ACK Guest House Nairobi is located in a very convenient location and serves delicious food (especially breakfast). As others have stated, the hotel is totally safe and solid.

The guest rooms (especially the ones located in the behind the main building) are spacious and have all of the necessities. Since this is a religiously affiliated hotel, they do not serve alcohol. If you are in the mood for a drink with your dinner, you can take a very short walk down the road to the Fairview for dinner and drinks (sit by the pool if it's warm enough).

I've stayed at ACK several times in the past few years and always have an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Guest rooms behind the main building are more spacious that those inside the main guest house
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Milan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The ACK Guesthouse is a safe and sensible place to stay in Nairobi. You don't need to stay in a fancy, overpriced hotel. ACK is a solid choice. It's not fancy, but the rooms are nice and comfortable, the breakfast is fine, service is good, and the location is excellent. It's located close to some of the very expensive hotels on "the safest street in Nairobi", according to several of my taxi drivers. The property is guarded and it's a short walk down the hill to the main area of Nairobi. The breakfast is a pretty good spread and was included in my rate. I had lunch and dinner there several times and although the food was a bit bland, there were plenty of choices and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

First visit here, I had been warned not to expect too much, However the staff were very friendly and efficient, the rooms perfectly adequate and self contained. I was in a sinlge room, and there are twins in adjacent blocks. The rooms are en-suite. There is a dining room and it is buffet service. Food was hot with a small choice.

This guest house is run by the Anglican Church of Kenya and is ideally suited as a base for Christian visitors to Nairobi - we stopped for one night to allow us to make an early morning transfer to the airport. Breakfast was provided for us at 5am. However it is not 'in your face' Christian in it's operation, so it should be suitable for most folk prepared to be considerate to other guests. It is an alcohol free area.

There is 24 hour security on the gate and we had a quiet nights sleep (unlike some previous stays in Nairobi!).

I'd definately stop here again for a stop over in Nairobi - it cost about 35 GBP incl. meal

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanAndKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Olav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#22 of 167 in Nairobi
757 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Reata Serviced Apartments
#43 of 167 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACK Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACK Guest House

Address: Bishop's Road | off Ngong Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $58 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACK Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your ACK Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing