We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice ambience, poor sound and cold food"- landscapes awesome!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Place Hotel & Coference Centre
Ranked #92 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Nice ambience, poor sound and cold food"- landscapes awesome!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Oak place has indeed established herself as a training, conferencing and weddings venue. The greenery and artistic landscapes is indeed panoramic. The location does not favor them though as its abit tucked in within a residential area and failure to advertise or announce their brand is at the least myopic...seems even the immediate neighbors do not know of the fantastic facility...That is neither here nor there though...my greatest concern is with their food...their alarcate menu though sounding sophisticated is really wanting...the executive chef can do much much better...besides, serving cold food on the three occasions that i visited is your last nail to an otherwise awful culinary experience to an otherwise well decorated and beautiful venue...they can also do better with piped music!!!! Not the PA system mounted within the fine dining section..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    12
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
4
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First time in Kenya and wasn't sure what to expect. Oak Place is absolutely gorgeous, service is great and staff are absolutely wonderful! My only criticism would be that the restaurant may need an upgrade if they want visitors to return but having said that, I would return anyway ad any lack of quality is made up for with the friendliness, enthusiasm and hospitality of the staff and all Kenyans we met here. Great conference venue and for weddings as well!

PS. Mosquitos are an issue irrespective if where you stay so just make sure you bring lots of mosquito repellant - mosquito nets are provided.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Oak Place is located off Kiambu road, along Ridgeway’s Garden Estate Road opposite Oak Lane Nairobi Kenya near the Windsor Golf and country Club. From the capital city it is Just a 30-minute drive from the city center, from the airport you can use the bypass to the Windsor round about take first left turn the second left turn leads you to the gate.
I liked everything about Oak place. It is located on one of Nairobi quietest and reclusive countryside suburbs. Their beautiful well maintained lawns and gardens, warm reception clean and beautiful clean cottages, the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets. There was an iron which I did not use but I confirmed it was working, hot water in the shower. The food was Excellent! Very well prepared tasty and very friendly waiters.
Their flower garden was the best for me. They have the most creative way of keeping you engaged. I could not help laughing alone. There are these carvings of shoes human heads used as flower vases and the funniest is the smiling mouth on the walls. Its worth trying when around Nairobi. Their prices are fair and their services excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cwventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Oak Place is a quiet, beautiful place with with maintained lawns and gardens with the Windsor Golf and country Club within the vicinity. I was warmly received at the reception and shown to my cottage in a little while. The cottages are very clean and the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets. They even provide an iron in your cottage just in case you need to press your clothes. I got a swift response when I failed to turn on the hot water in my shower. Sometimes the hot water disappeared, but I got it sorted out.
The food was very hot and tasty, I enjoyed it! The waiters were swift and always ready to help. All the staff I asked for any kind of assistance were always glad to help and were very friendly.
The only problem I noticed is that the place is in a low lying area so when the rains fell heavily, the walk ways and lawns got flooded. That aside, I definitely enjoyed my stay there.
If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and beautiful place to spend a weekend or hold a function (meeting, wedding, etc),I would definitely recommend the Oak Place, all thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onabright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sunstar Hotel
#140 of 165 in Nairobi
20 reviews
Sportsview Hotel
#81 of 165 in Nairobi
17 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#26 of 165 in Nairobi
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Place Hotel & Coference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Place Hotel & Coference Centre

Property: Oak Place Hotel & Coference Centre
Address: Garden Estate Road | Off Kiambu Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing