We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic cheap Sunshine break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margpher House

Margpher House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margpher House
Save
You added Margpher House to your Saves list
Ranked #50 of 219 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cheap Sunshine break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I spent 10 days in Nairobi over the Christmas period and stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast ran by a husband and wife duo.
The house and grounds are lovely and peaceful and situated in a quiet, secure part of Nairobi, in Karen at the foothillls of the Ngong Hills.
The amenities are basic, but this is a clean and secure place with a simple but stunning garden one can relax in with the excellent weather
The owners are friendly, approachable and un-intrusive and on request will do what they can to help.
This was a highly affordable lovely experience for me, given the peak season in which I travelled to Kenya.
I highly recommend Margpher house

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_ML4762AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Margpherhouse is a great place to stay if you looking for comfortable affordable accomodation in the Karen area. The rooms are clean and neat. The grounds are spacious with comfortable garden chairs if you are looking to relax. They are also not fussy about check in and check out times which is great. The breakfast was also very tasty and fresh. Margret is a great cook and her and her husband are great hosts. I will definetely be returning to margpherhouse for our next stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Magret, Monde and Flora gave us a warm welcome to Margpher House. The rooms were on the spartan side; however, they sufficiently met our needs. We appreciated having Eric to transport us around town. We found him personable and accommodating and we paid him well for his services. I recommend Margpher House to anyone seeking safe, clean and welcoming accommodations in the Nairobi area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Margpher House in Karen is a very lovely place in the beautiful and secure surounding of Karen Nairobi. The owners, Margret and her husband Monde, are very friendly and helpful hosts. Margaret's breakfast is simple great! Highly recommendable at an affordable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UteJosepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent several nights at this house before and after our Safari in the Masai Mara.
The Owner Margret was very nice and her daughter helped us in many ways. I don't think you can beat the price for a safe place to stay in the Karen District. My only negative experience was the driver Eric she recommended. I found I was overcharged and it made a bad impression. I highly recommend this house.....just stay away from Eric the driver.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Purdy Arms
#9 of 219 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margpher House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margpher House

Property: Margpher House
Address: Karen, Nairobi 11698, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margpher Guest House is situated in Karen, a suburb of Nairobi, Kenya. It is a place most guests consider home away from home. Situated in a quiet area, it provides for a tranquil setting that you cannot find in hotels. Margpher House is elegantly and tastefully furnished with seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The guest house also has a large yard with lots of trees, flowers and deck chairs where once can sit, relax and enjoy the sun, bird watch, or simply enjoy the view. It is a 5 minute drive from the Karen Shopping Centre, 15 minutes from Nairobi City Centre, and 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing