We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good for south indian but too expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chowpaty

Chowpaty
Ranked #24 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good for south indian but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

had been to chowpaty restaurant at diamond plaza , near westlands . ordered for a masala dosa . dosa was good and the sambhar too was very delicious. Reminded me of sai krupa restaurants in india . service was good . but the price of one masala dosa was 370 KES which is equivalent to almost INR 200 - 225 . So expensive dosa i have never eaten in india .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_f00d_l0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    62
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best South Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Note: there are several Chowpaty restaurants in the Westlands/Parklands area. I believe they are all under the same ownership. This review is of the Westlands location in Shimmers Plaza).

The menu has South Indian, North Indian and some Chinese sprinkled in. I think one can get better North Indian elsewhere (albeit not as cheap) so I focus on the South Indian. Chowpaty's strength is a wide variety of dosas, each of which comes in 2 formats: plain (no filling) and masala (potato/onion filling). Get the latter in order to be satisfied. The dosas come with a coconut sauce and with sambar - delicious. The puri is also good.

Despite boasting an army of waiters, service can be slow when there are many diners, but the waiters are friendly. Beware: parking is a nightmare at lunchtime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marc_nbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummy vegetarian food...reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you're looking for Asian cuisine with a spicy kick, this is the place to go to. With lots of moghlai and Chinese dishes to choose from, you will be spoint for choice without breaking the bank. Be sure to try the paneer tikka and triple schezuan rice..finger licking good!
And the dosas...paper thin and melt in your mouth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shruts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I always make a special trip to Diamond Plaza to visit Chowpatty when I'm in Nairobi. I'll have a bit of North and South Indian food. It's the first place I ever tried a Dosa and it is still one of my favorites.

I prefer to sit outside in the food court as it's a bit more exciting--but be careful of other places with similar names.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdamERWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

One thing iLove about indian restaurants is the ambiance. The waiters were friendly and very fast in taking orders and helpful with the menu.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atotijaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowpaty also viewed

 

Been to Chowpaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing