We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mug Restaurant

The Mug Restaurant
Ranked #249 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=1870440982267351090&q=The+Mug+coffee,+Central,+Kenya&hl=en&ved=0CCEQ-gswAA&sa=X&ei=rkx0T4zvPNDQ_AbJg4yhAw&sig2=xeimSqQR0s15KsGbvwguUw
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

the coffe wasnt that good, I expected better. The black forest cake served was okay but the service was bad....it took around 20 minutes to be attende to

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FIONAF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The smell gives you an invitation you just cannot say no to...and of course the coffee itself proves what the smell tell you

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect cafe in nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

To mathias, i know the management coz I'm a regular there and I think you are wrong to suggest it was an "inside involvement" maybe take care of your belongings next time as indicated on the signs everywhere in Kenya.. As for the coffee and food, the mug is my favorite joint in nairobi

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed their cakes for take-out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have not tried their coffee yet but was pleased with the cakes. Loved the White Forest and Chocolate cake. I have to say they are better than the Dorman's cakes we tried. The service was good at the take-out counter and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had my camera stolen here. Staff - including the manager - instantly became rude when I told them about it, refused to offer any assistance (including to call the police); CCTV was conveniently switched off for the incident. To me, it suggests inside involvement. Best avoided. In any case, the "Americano" I ordered tasted nothing like the real thing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mug Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Mug Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing