We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't have a problem at the Meltonia Luxury suites!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meltonia Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Meltonia Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Meltonia Luxury Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Can Tho, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't have a problem at the Meltonia Luxury suites!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Meltonia Luxury Suites in Nairobi for the weekend. We each had a one bedroom studio which are very well appointed and when I first saw them I thought it was a real find: spacious, includes a kitchen and sitting room, well furnished, flat screen TV and WiFi.
However a problem arose when I locked my valuables into the safe and it would not unlock (on the first night when we had just arrived). I immediately reported it to reception. They explained they don't keep the keys at the apartments. Fair enough! In fact, a good practice. They would fix it in the morning. No problem there was nothing I needed straight away. We were still in at the apartments until 11am - no sign of the key for my safe. I get back in the late afternoon around 5pm - no sign of the key for my safe. I insist that the young man on the reception call his boss, who states the keys will be at the apartments by 7pm. My friend and I wished to go out for dinner and we did not wish to be late as we had a very early start the following morning. So I insist on speaking to the boss who says "it's not our fault you forgot the code you used..." Firstly I'm not senile. It was immediately after I closed the safe that I attempted to open it again. Secondly I always use the exact same code for every hotel safe and I travel with reasonable frequency. It is unforgettable because it is the four numbers of my birthday and one of my son's birthdays. I also use the same number for my frequent flyer account and used it with success to open the account that next day to ensure I hadn't forgotten it. "The boss" was in fact quite rude, raised her voice to me and talked over the top of me when I tried to speak.
So if you are sure you can have a problem free stay or if you don't mind poor service from rude bosses, then stay at these apartments. Otherwise I would advise you look elsewhere for your accommodation in Nairobi. One other thing, I was never able to access the wifi and everyone just kept saying "Ï don't understand".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank disclockdisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiK443, Manager at Meltonia Luxury Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Madam;
We truly take this opportunity to sincerely apologize to you the locked safe issue that you had. It took hours for the safe key to be made available to you simply because safe keys are kept away from site because of security reasons.
We believe due to your very long wait you became understandably sensitive and to the extent that you took the telephone handset from the receptionist while we were trying to resolve the issue. There was at the time only one person who could be reached authorized to sign off the keys , and regrettably they were out of town on an urgent issue and took the long journey back just ( without completing the assignment) because of you. You rightfully were very irritable which was still understandable as time was running out. You did warn us that you will 'do something very bad', because of the difficulty in getting the keys, it became a long day for both of us but it was nevertheless difficult to put this across to you even while I was talking to you on phone. However, we owe you a big apology and I personally welcome you again and the issue or any other will be handled (hopefully there will be none) better next time.
J. K. Njuguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
23
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked my apartment very late and could not get a response on airport pick up. It was easy to get a taxi from the hotel to the apartment on my own though.
The area is safe and there is a security staff right at the gate (not sure if he was armed). I could walk to the local supermarket (Uchumi) and local shopping centre (Yaya Centre and Mall) on my own.
To get to the city centre, one has to take a taxi (I did not go to the city centre).
I booked a studio and was upgraded to a one-room apartment.
The apartments I went into were very clean, spacious and comfortable. Due to a series of unfortunate events, I had to change 3 apartments in 4 nights and had access to 4 different apartments to sleep (sewage system was choked and toilet had to be repaired), cook (apartment had no stove or microwaveable crockery so I had to use another apartment to cook) or shower (heater broke down and after trying to fix it for me for 3 hours, they finally gave me access to another apartment to shower). The television and internet did not work on one of the days when I badly needed the internet to confirm my trip plans. The service provider fixed the problem at the end of the day but I was not informed (even though staff knew the urgency as I had asked 3 times). I had a discount on the third and fourth night as a result.
The staff were very nice but I got stressed out due to the changes and breakdowns. Staff needed more training on how to handle awkward situations.
I will return to the Meltonia again (if I do not need to access the city centre) as it would be great value for money IF everything works. Now that i know which rooms are not working and the names of staff, I will definitely check with them which room I will be allocated to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dy1ngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've been traveling back and forth to Nairobi for 10 year until I found this little treasure. It's fabulous and totally reasonable. It is a suite hotel so you get a lot of bang for the buck. You get living room, kitchen, laundry room and l wonderful kingsize bed.
The only real problem is that they have no lift so if you're on the top flights it's a really long walk up.

Room Tip: Try not to be too high up, but not on the first floor either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbgcitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was only in Nairobi in transit for 2 nights so I didn't have specific needs in terms of the location. The Meltonia Suites is not exactly centrally located, but I still managed to get around easily by taxi to go visit some sights and met friends at the Yaya center nearby.
The suite was very spacious with a large living room and a nice little balcony.
The place is peaceful and service is wonderful. A special thanks to Peggy who went out of her way to help me change money and get the most of my 24 hours in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our group of 14 stayed at the Meltonia Luxury Suites for one night prior to a safari departure and one night on the return in September 2012. The staff does an amazing job of making you feel welcome and and meeting your needs. The rooms (actually apartments) are large, well appointed and absolutely spotless. Our drivers were not familiar with the accommodations so it was a bit of a hunt to find the Meltonia, but it was totally worth it. There are no lifts, so for those folks staying at the highest floors you need to climb some stairs, but again the staff does all it can to carry bags and provide for your needs. The Meltonia is located in a secure and quiet neighborhood, making a good night's rest possible because there are no sound interruptions from traffic, etc. Breakfast is included; it is basic and good. The kitchen was very accommodating to prepare meals for us on arrival; service was slow but the food was well prepared. I cannot say enough about how helpful Peggy and her staff were to make our stay an excellent experience. I will definitely recommend the Meltonia to any friends I have traveling to Nairobi.

Room Tip: If you're a bit older or have a problem handling stairs, ask in advance for a room on a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobsadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Meltonia twice in September 2012 and wow!....what a fantastic place to stay right in the centre of Nairobi. Very beautiful interior decor, with the double studio providing a very relaxing home-away-from-home experice. The staff are so corteous, friendly and ever ready to help with excellent service at the reception. Peggy is such a darling and a fantastic hostess.
I will definitely be back in Meltonia and will recommend it for anyone looking for a great place and value for money in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was a good stay at Meltonia between September 2nd and 25th 2012. I need to thank:

Peggy: For helping me extend the stay without any hassles and seamless. For urgent calling outside she helped me with her cell phones which was very insturmental.
The Chef: He helped me with the Indian Cuisine whenever I required it and was very polite and good mannered.
Moses and his friends: They helped with the required access to internet and other bills.
Room Care Takers: They helped me feel I am at home with essential arrangments.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially B1 Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gireesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#35 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#56 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#26 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meltonia Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltonia Luxury Suites

Property: Meltonia Luxury Suites
Address: Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meltonia Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meltonia Luxury Suites is one of the most desirable apartment suites to be in Nairobi. Combining exquisitely refurbished interiors and a fantastic location, this stunning studio and one bedroom flat apartment offers high-quality fixtures. Located in a prime location, near the Yaya Centre and Mall on Kindaruma Road- Nairobi, Meltonia will offer you an atmosphere of tranquility. The trendy rooms are very inviting and secure with their own security intercom phones and panic buttons. Meltonia Luxury Suites has everything you may need for you to feel right at home. An exceptional 3rd floor apartment found within this sought after 24 hour master development boasting a high specification interior and modern features, located on this quiet residential street. Comprising a swimming pool, mini bar and restaurant with Lounge, separate fully fitted kitchen, master bedroom with en-suite shower room and a beautiful balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meltonia Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing