We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint Location and Great Quality Food and Service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Ranked #37 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International cuisine, French, American and Belgian influence!
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Location and Great Quality Food and Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant has a lovely location and the service is polite. Excellent for a Saturday or Sunday morning late breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thatguyamose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    54
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, uneven food quality/service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The River Cafe has an excellent setting and very good coffee, but I've had a different experience every time I've been to eat there. Sometimes the food is excellent (my husband loved the cannellini-chicken salad the first time we went, then he ordered it again and it was awful; same thing happened to me!) and the service is Ok, sometimes it is quite bad. You never know what to expect... Seems hard to find restaurants in Nairobi where specific dishes are prepared the same way each time! Would be great if they could work on consistency.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaNairobi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really nice setting, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The River Cafe is for sure worth a relaxing visit, immersed as it is in a quiet green setting off Limuru road. The coffee is excellent while the food (we had a late breakfast with scrambled and poached eggs with bacon and sausages) was well prepared but nothing special. The service is polite and attentive. Excellent for families with small children.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Location is excellent and it's an excellent place to relax. The food is disappointingly over priced given that it's so average. Not bad, but plenty of room for improvement. What was described on the menu and what showed up on my plate was disappointing. Quesadillas are not surprisingly easy to make and I thought it was a safe pick. I was wrong. A soggy quesadilla with mediocre salsa and smallest serving of guacamole I ever saw. Avocados are a dime a dozen in Nairobi.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely TERRIBLE! I will NEVER go here again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is a shame such a great location had appalling service for Sunday brunch (6 April). The food was late and not even warm, my friends smoothie tasted like syrup, the waiter gave us the wrong bill and to top it off, the manager approached us, asked for forgiveness for the bad service and then told us to leave because there were people waiting for a table! So basically can you forgive me but can you also leave?! Is this guy serious? What is his concept of service?! There was no attempt made for any form of service recovery! My friends and I were absolutely disgusted and it is safe to say that NONE OF US WILL GO HERE AGAIN and I will continue to inform my friends and colleagues!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nniikk_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing