We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Ranked #37 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International cuisine, French, American and Belgian influence!
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I take the family to have breakfast in that nice restaurant. The place is very romantic with beautiful scenery. English breakfast there is second to none and other type of breakfast is good too. Service is very good and the staff is friendly. aquarium is interesting for the kids but the kids activities could be better and the slides could be renovated to avoid the kids being injured by popping nails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    54
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Service & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been eating here on a consistent basis for the past seven to eight years now. My wife and I especially love the elegant scenery. We order our usual eggs for breakfast accompanied with chips and two pots of mixed tea.

The waitresses do not disappoint and deliver our oders quite promptly. The chips are arguably one of the best i have ever tried. Pancakes are good too as is the three cheese omelette,
There is also a nice section before you enter the restaurant for the children to play.

I am rather surprised at some of the negative comments, it is perhaps because i go when its not busy, but whatever the case, we really enjoy it and the range of coffee's are great too..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lousy service ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch-was very disappointed. The food took 45 minutes and was served cold. Had to send it back. Waiters couldn't be bothered to tell us about the delay despite us asking and never brought the additional bread we asked for. Complained to the manager who said they only have a few burners in the kitchen and customers should be aware that food can take up to an hour to be served on weekends! Not worth the money!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nairobian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday brunch in the lovely luscious outdoor setting. Quiet and serene setting in a very busy city. Lots of options for vegetarian choices. Portions not large but food all very very tasty and fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Came to River Cafe for brunch on Sunday with a group of friends. Everything was great...food (starters), service and ambience but it started to rain and our table was exposed so we politely asked if we could join the manager who was sitting on a bigger table with couches by herself, and she very rudely just said no, implying we should just leave instead. So we did, without ordering mains since she killed our appetites. Also, not the first run in we have had with this manager, who previously kicked us out very rudely on another occasion when we were having drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWK2, Owner at The River Cafe, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Prina,

Thank you for your e-mail. We apologise that you felt poorly about your experience at the Cafe on Sunday. I have spoken to the manager and as I believed, the intention was not to offend you. She was unwell and was only on duty in an effort to ensure her station was covered as her replacement is on leave, and in view of the fact that your group was smoking, asked if she could move your table instead. This was evidently not the preferred option for you, and we are sorry that you felt the solution offered was unhelpful.

With regard to your last experience also involving the manager, you may be aware that our hours of operation are dictated quite strictly by our environment. We are in a particular environment and during our seven years here, have made every effort to adhere to the restriction that we must close the restaurant at 6 p.m. As long as we are in the current location, we will always request our clients leave by 6.30 and staff sometimes get anxious when clients linger as there are repercussions to our not being empty by that time. Once again, what may have come across as rude was simply an effort to enforce the laid-down rules which enable us continue to operate in harmony with our neighbours, and we apologise if you felt offended by it.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, if not here, in our next location where we will have more flexibility with our hours of operation and indeed, weatherproofing of all seating areas.

Yours sincerely,

Sophie Kinyua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing