We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Breakfast or lunch surounded by nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Limuru Road, 1/2 km after Village Market | Inside Karura Forest, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254725969891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International cuisine, French, American and Belgian influence!
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast or lunch surounded by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This lovely place is perfect to start the day! you have open space, good food and plants, cats, birds and a nursery to by your plants or anything for your garden.
The place is calm and quiet and the contact with nature provides the energy you need for the day (or the afternoon if you go for lunch)
You can also complement your food with nice wine or finish it with ice cream or a good coffee!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food is terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We ordered a ceasar salad with chicken and the chicken was totally disgusting...dont waste you money.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Panchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWK2, Owner at The River Cafe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Panchs,

We read with concern your feedback on The RiverCafé following your visit, andwould like to sincerelyapologise on behalf of our team for your poor experience. There is no excuse for this experience, the Caesar Salad is one of our most popular salads made using the classic Caesar dressing but we obviously disappointed. We would appreciate the opportunity to change that and show you what a great Salad we really do have, and would like to have you come back and have a meal on us. The feedback we get from our clients is invaluable, we are only sorry that we did not get an opportunity to address this issue on the day of your visit, we certainly do not want our guests leaving unhappy.

We make a changes based on the feedback of our clients, and do hope you will be back to try us again.


Sincerely,
River Cafe Management.

Please let us know when and what time you would like to come back? 0725-969-891
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great outside dinning in peace1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great place that is nice and quiet. Free wifi, good food and friendly people. Outdoor atmosphere is a plus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good...stop in if you're close by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The setting is very beautiful and its full of expats. The food is not bad and there are definitely lots of choices. I don't know if I'd go out of my way to come here but its still a treat. I'm sure a city like Nairobi has plenty of choices of restaurants. This place is ideal for brunch and good for large groups.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Kind of Evening Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Quiet...................self accomodating space.................cool air.........................the verandah feel and spacing from one table to the next allows one's mind to go places - this helps the heart and body to relax.....epecially if you smoke :)
I've found myself enjoying what would be described as odd moments - like when the cloud's start pilling up on each other half an hour before the rain pours (It's the tranquile solitude - it can get you to think you are all alone on the balcony of your own house) But when the reality of the rain comes knocking, it brings with it an end to the open space that was feeding you.
The thing I love about their service is that it's very accomodating - it's almost like they also appreciate the ambiance........there are times the staff almost get to pin drop silence........ a warm chukle or laugh breaks the silence........but that's what makes us Kenyan's - real and warm - social beings that appreciate and care. If the working space in any office in Kenya doesn't allow for warmth, kindness and deligated self responsibility, you kill the Kenyan. That said, it's the self responsibility exhibited both by the individual staff and their work relationship's that opens the door to freedom in the working space to the degree that doesn't take away from the restaurant........good staff relations add's to a restaurant's ambiance - The River Cafe has this added quality..........(I'm not a frequent client....maybe I go when the boss is not in, I don't know............But the atmosphere I keep getting there is respectful, accomodating and warm - A plus for the restaurant :) )

The River Cafe is a 'diary restaurant'..............once you visit it, you will almost have it with you everywhere you go :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gichuki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing