We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unfortunate experience”
Review of Tara Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara Suites
Ranked #62 of 287 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

(This updates my previous review of September 17)
I found the rooms comfortable and the staff friendly. I did have the unfortunate experience of feeling that I was taken advantage of.

On one of the days in my stay my laundry was taken from my room and washed, though I had not asked for this to be done or put it in the laundry bag. I came back and my shirts were hung nicely in the second closet. I spoke to the staff and they apologized and said I would not be charged. By itself I wouldn't have thought again of it.

As I was leaving, the staff asked if I had used the wireless, and told me it would be charged at $5 per day that I had used it (I have no idea how this use would be verified). The desk staff told me that it was written up on a letter in the rooms that this was the policy - I went back to the room and did not find a letter. In the end, the desk staff backed off, but I was feeling apprehensive at this point.

Finally, upon returning home, I realized that those nicely hung shirts were still in the closet back in Nairobi. When I followed up by phone and email, they were nowhere to be found. Of course, as travelers we all know that the responsibility to take care of our things is ours, but I did really expect a little bit more willingness and transparency from the Tara side.

Really I'm probably just upset that I lost one of my favorite shirts.

At any rate, my own experience may be isolated and idiosyncratic, and I may just be a bad traveler, but from my experience alone I can't recommend the Tara Suites to anyone. There are a number of other small hotels B&Bs along the crescent, and based on my experience alone I would suggest that you look elsewhere.
UPDATE: I received an email from the manager of the hotel, presumably after she had read the review I above. She assured me that they had a protocol in place for dealing with lost items, so clearly this must be my error – I should check my things again. I did, dutifully, and my shirts still weren’t there. I think there were a number of possibilities in this situation, not least plausible of which is that someone on the Tara end was being dishonest. To disregard such possibilities and assure me by email that it must be my problem is a big misstep for someone in the hospitality trade, in my opinion, and unprofessional. That changed my view of the Tara Suites from a 2-star to a 1-star experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

I spent over a week at the Tara Suites attending business meetings in the UN Crescent. I found the rooms affordable, clean and spacious with all the amenities, the staff accommodating and friendly, and the hotel overall a quiet homey place to stay as an alternative to the larger hotels ion the area such as the Tribe. The two missing pieces for me were a swimming pool and fitness center. However, the receptionist ensured me that the hotel had plans to restore both of these within the year. Once these are completed I would rate the Tara Suites as one of the best valued secrets in Gigiri, Nairobi. I would also recommend that Tara Suites add a few more carpets to the floors to muffle hallway noise in the atrium.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoAgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette Q, Owner at Tara Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

It was our pleasure having you as a guest. We are close to completion on a spa at the lower level and do have plans to develop a fitness area. Your review was accurate and will help us improve accommodations for future guests. We aspire to make everyone feel at home without sacrificing amenities and necessities. Thank you so much from all of us and your welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It would be great to have TVs in the room and telephone services to enable individual choices to catch up with news, and also to call for emergencies in the comfort of one's room. It is also essential to put more furniture in the rooms 2 chairs for guests as needed esp. in the apartment section where I stayed. And it wopuld also help to have coffee/tea making facilities in the room to avoid walking back and forth to the front desk and also even add the option of a refrigerator - unstocked but to allow guest to cool the water provided. It is also essential to have separate sets of keys for guests to the common areas like the external grill doors instead of having a shared set. Should also have A/C in all rooms, and where not available, have a desk fan handy.

Room Tip: Room 30 in the apartment section is spacious and has good view to the garden behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmiel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette Q, Owner at Tara Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your suggestions have merit, will be shared in our development meeting, and will improve accommodations for future guests. Thank you again for taking the to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: toutes sont OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 287 in Nairobi
94 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#9 of 287 in Nairobi
167 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Suites

Address: United Nations Crescent | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $75 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Traveling is not always a luxurious vacation but rather a necessity. Realizing the simplicities are overlooked and taken for granted, the inspiration for Tara Suites was born. Tara Suites is not a franchise, but rather your home away from home where you can feel safe and connected. It's a property of boutique suites set in a captivating oasis on United Nations Crescent, Gigiri. In a deciduous vegetated garden amongst a sanctuary of beautiful East African birds you will forget that you are within walking distance from the United Nations and conveniently close to cafes, restaurants, and modern shopping facilities. Safety, reliability, comfort, and connectivity are necessities we will provide. We might just be that luxurious vacation you've been seeking after all. Thanks for visiting." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Tara Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing