We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Embassy Memorial Garden

American Embassy Memorial Garden
Ranked #27 of 114 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On August 7th 1998, a group of terrorists used a car bomb to blow up the then United States Embassy located at the corner of Moi and Haile Selassie Avenues, causing the deaths of 218 innocent people and injuring thousands of others. So powerful was the explosion that it could be heard as far away as the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, while the shock wave was felt over the city causing many buildings to tremble. As a result, a new Embassy was constructed on a heavily fortified site at Gigiri while ownership of the existing site was donated by the American and Kenyan people to a trust charged with turning it into a Memorial Park as a tribute to the victims but also a place where the public would be educated about the futility of violence and the essence of peace. The construction of the Park and Museum was made possible by donations in cash and kind by a number of individuals, companies and organizations, leading to its opening on 7th August 2001. The Memorial Park comprises a landscaped garden, a Memorial Wall commemorating the names of those who died and several other features that hold a symbolic meaning relevant to the tragic event. The Visitors Centre, which also houses the Museum, has remarkable conference facilities that can be hired for short term or prolonged durations and can accommodate up to 60 people. All proceeds from the gate charges, conference facilities, meeting rooms, hire of venue for events and advertising space go towards the sustenance and maintenance of the Memorial Park.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Here you find nice view of Nairobi. Don t take any travel guide it s unnecessary. They want of course to take tip for some information.

Visited September 2013
Thank eviwl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It cost a couple of EURO to visit. It turned out to be a quiet oasis even though it is situated on the corner of a busy intersection. An informal atmosphere and a good place to meet Nairobeans.

Visited October 2012
1 Thank Gracie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pretty little park & museum if you're downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

As an American living in Kenya I passed this park many times walking through downtown Nairobi. After spending more than a year in the country, I finally decided to visit and was glad I did. The park itself is small and is mainly used by Kenyans looking for a place to sit around and relax in downtown Nairobi. It's a nice little space and the entry fee is nominal. The memorial museum is in a small building located in a corner of the park. When I went it was empty, but they have a nice collection of information, testimonials, and artifacts from that sad day. Most of the voices are Kenyan, which is appropriate since they suffered the most (the bomb affected a very busy corner of downtown Nairobi). Definitely worth a short visit if you're in the city center.

Visited June 2013
Thank TatooshRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Somber Green Space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located in the city center, this well kept park acts as a somber reminder of the bombing victims from the American Embassy in Kenya. Having visited the Embassy on several occasions before this tragic event, we felt it important to pay our respects. On the Sunday afternoon we visited, the park was full of Kenyans having lunch and soda's. We had to pay a fee and go through security to enter. As the only persons of European ethnicity we were eyed considerably but not bothered. Our Kenyan driver, who accompanied us inside was nervous, as this is a high crime area. Visit only if you have a group of four or more, have a compelling reason to do so in the first place and don't spend any more time than needed. Suggest 15 minutes maximum.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank GeorgeRoemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice... I didn't think there would be any gardens in Nairobi being that it s a city but this is lovely, well kept green area. Not sure how safe as Nairobi I think isn't a very safe city but otherwise a nice place. On,y worth a visit if you are passing,

Visited May 2013
Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Embassy Memorial Garden also viewed


Been to American Embassy Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing