We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Embassy Memorial Garden

American Embassy Memorial Garden
Ranked #28 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On August 7th 1998, a group of terrorists used a car bomb to blow up the then United States Embassy located at the corner of Moi and Haile Selassie Avenues, causing the deaths of 218 innocent people and injuring thousands of others. So powerful was the explosion that it could be heard as far away as the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, while the shock wave was felt over the city causing many buildings to tremble. As a result, a new Embassy was constructed on a heavily fortified site at Gigiri while ownership of the existing site was donated by the American and Kenyan people to a trust charged with turning it into a Memorial Park as a tribute to the victims but also a place where the public would be educated about the futility of violence and the essence of peace. The construction of the Park and Museum was made possible by donations in cash and kind by a number of individuals, companies and organizations, leading to its opening on 7th August 2001. The Memorial Park comprises a landscaped garden, a Memorial Wall commemorating the names of those who died and several other features that hold a symbolic meaning relevant to the tragic event. The Visitors Centre, which also houses the Museum, has remarkable conference facilities that can be hired for short term or prolonged durations and can accommodate up to 60 people. All proceeds from the gate charges, conference facilities, meeting rooms, hire of venue for events and advertising space go towards the sustenance and maintenance of the Memorial Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having lost people I've known here during the bomb blast, I would say it is a bit of a sad experience to be here, but a memorable experience all the same.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    18
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Memorial”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its a sad place due to what it signifies. The memorial itself is touching. However the part of Nairobi in which it sits is terrible. If you are going to visit watch yourself and your wallet!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anoop l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Somber monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The monument was great. After hearing about Kenyan corruption from a lot of locals we were shocked that we were shook down here of all places. The normal fee is about 100KES but we were forced out of 350KES each because we were late arriving. I guess I should just be thankful we were allowed in but the bribe left a bad taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,091 reviews
736 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 802 helpful votes
“Peaceful little garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The American Embassy Memorial Garden is a nice little garden, providing an oasis or relative calm in amongst chaotic Nairobi. There was an event on at the gardens when I visited, so while the entry fee was waived, the memorials inside the gardens were obscured by seats and awnings. Still, the gardens were a nice little spot and are worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'A mixed Experience!'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The moment I entered this place,I received a warm welcome from the friendly security staff,who did some thorough security checks.The place looks attractive even though when I looked at the wall that has the names of those victims who perished during the 1998 bombing,it created a sombre mood.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nyachwayageoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Embassy Memorial Garden also viewed

 

Been to American Embassy Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing