We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lion Trails Safari was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours

Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours
Ranked #8 of 175 Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small vibrant Tour Company in Kenya, owned and operated by local Kenyans. Services include: Short Excursions/Short Safaris/Road & Flying Safaris (Both group & private)/Beach Holidays/Nairobi accommodation/Local flight reservations/Airport Transfers/Gorilla Safaris in Rwanda. Note: We always work hard to better our services and always look for the most effective and affordable solutions to our clients needs. Whatever you want, we will put you on the right track!
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lion Trails Safari was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My group of 10 friends just finished a great trip booked with Bernard at Lion Trails Safari.

Edwin and Jackson were the drivers for our 8-day Safari in four different Kenyan Parks. I cannot say enough positive things about the two drivers and the safari as a whole. From the start, Bernard was very accommodating and easy to communicate with. Once we were picked up, everything went perfectly and our drivers made excellent effort to please every one in our group of 10. The trip was a memorable eight days.

I would recommend staying in the Serena Hotels and the Sweetwaters Tented Camp was awesome as well. Food and atmosphere at these places was terrific. Ashnil were well located but I felt as though their staff and food was subpar.

Also - I recommend you get the SUV because they are better able to access good areas such as where leopards reside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank CBaller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning safari trip to the Maasai Mara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was in Kenya for a work visit and so our family contacted 5 high-rated safari companies to organise a 3 - 4 day safari trip from Nairobi. Bernard from Lion Trails Safaris provided a tailored itinerary for our family which was why we chose them - and we had a great trip.

Our driver was Martin Waweru who took us to Lake Naivasha and then on to the Maasai Mara. We had a great trip - the animals were spectacular, and the general scenery of the Mara was beautiful. Martin had a very broad knowledge about animals and plants that we saw, including a large variety of birds. There had been heavy rain on the day before we arrived in the Maasai Mara and so Martin's driving skills were also tested. He took the 4WD Toyota Hiace through some challenging track conditions without getting bogged - unlike the Land Cruiser that was behind us on one of the tracks. Martin also prudently avoided some places that looked too risky.

During the safari trip we stayed at Lake Naivasha Sopa Lodge and Keekorok Lodge; both were excellent standard. The road into the Maasai Mara was quite bad at the moment - apparently it wasn't graded at the start of this year, presumably because tourist numbers are down a lot after last year's Westfield Mall tragedy.

We're really glad that we had a chance to see some of Kenya's spectacular landscape and wildlife, and to experience Kenyan hospitality. Hopefully I'll line up some more work trips to Kenya so that we can bring the family to explore more of Kenya's national parks. We highly recommend doing a Kenyan safari trip for those who are considering it - and Lion Trails are an excellent organisation to do this with.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just came back from my first Safari Experience in Kenya and was amazing and unforgettable, thanks to our tour agency and amazing guide ( Martin). Had lots of fun, learn so much and was able to see every single animal. The hotels part of the

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianita-Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 day Safari - AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I went in April, which is usually a down time for the wildlife but we still got to see everything. It was amazing and the driver (Martin) was super knowledgeable, I could ask him about anything! Had a lot of fun, even on the bumpy roads!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gfunk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently went on a four day safari with 3 family members in Kenya, and it was one of the best experiences in my life! Oliver was our driver and made the whole trip so much fun. Bernard was easy to communicate beforehand, and had everything organized for us when we arrived. Oliver was knowledgeable, friendly and easygoing. Our accommodations were stunning - the Sarova hotels are just perfect in every way. We loved everything about our safari!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing