We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal and really to be forgotten as soon as possible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kibera

Kibera
Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informal and really to be forgotten as soon as possible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As a slum, it should be rated ***** five stars.
It is one of thabiggest in Africa and may be in the world.
It is an unforgettable experience.
But when you undestand that it is the placewhere lovable Kenyans have to come and rest in after a heavy working day, you would cry.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    11
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You really should visit this while in Nairobi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Nairobi together with a big group, and we spent one day in the slums of Kibera. We visited a school driven by the Children of Kibera foundation and was guided through parts of the slum with a guide. As a foreigner, you should never walk in the slum without a local guide, as this can be very dangerous. Listen to your guide, and be discreet when taking pictures.

Even though a walk in the slum isn't a pleasant experience, I think every tourist coming from a rich country should visit the slum. It gives you a new perspective of life, and even though you might forget some of it when you go home, it will have taught you something. While you are in the slum, I will highly recommend a visit to the Children of Kibera school - it's an amazing project that gives children of poor families an opportunity to go to school, and the best students can even attend college in the USA. Coming from the 2nd largest slum in Africa, that is an amazing opportunity for the children there. Also, by visiting, you will highlight the children's day and learn how a school in the slum looks like.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flying toilets.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I remember quite well it was my birthday and i had gone to celebrate it with my friends who manage a children's home in Kibera. I could not avoid looking at the flying toilets which nearly hit me as i was passing a deserted alley.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Collosaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The largest slum in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is rated as the one of the world's largest slum. People have no access to basic amenities such as bathrooms. Because of that the residents have invented "flying toilets" where one puts the waste in plastic bag and tosses away in the river which is heavily polluted or on the narrow streets where the people walk.
Many non-governmental institutions target this area for development which makes some difference. There is a project where they recycle human waste into energy. Another project is that of using the solar heat to purify water for drinking. The water is poured in clear plastic bottles and placed on the iron sheets all day long. Other projects involve education children and especially the girl child who is venerable to early pregnancies because of the conditions of living there.

Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mission work at Kibera”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited Kibera for charity works with some missionaries and it was wonderful touching a life. This is a big slum outside Nairobi.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibera also viewed

 

Been to Kibera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing