We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slum”
Review of Kibera

Kibera
Ranked #37 of 121 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slum”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

You should be know that every country has their different face , there is the so-called slums, Kibera is real in Kenya on the other face, it is true, even if it's not far away you can see tall buildings, this is a dangerous place, but you see a lot of children with their body language to show you their friendly, happy to take a picture with you, how can you believe this place is a dangerous place, get mugged? If you like taking pictures, please do not miss this, although there is no beautiful scenery, but this is life.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    17
    13
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge Slum”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kenyas largest slum. Im not sure why it needs a rating as its not a place any tourist is likely to visit. If you do happen to to visit though you'll be both depressed (at the conditions people live in) and amazed at the number of small (jua kali) businesses that thrive there

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank anoop l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard to describe, harder to rate”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I went to Kenya partly to see "how the other half lives." This accomplished that purpose but it was very disturbing. What bothered me was that we were there, driving through in our nice car, gawking at the people as if they were animals in a zoo, taking pictures, etc. Should we ignore it and pretend it doesn't exist? No. But should we treat this as a tourist attraction like any other? No. People deserve respect, dignity, and privacy even if they live in a stick built shelter covered with a tattered tarp. I was proud that the mision work done by my organization is helping people such as these to have a better chance. Maybe it was something I needed to see, and discomfort is probably the most appropriate reaction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a sobering place...”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a slum, a terrible place, and the fact that it exists is saddening. It is NOT a tourist experience, and the reactions of the residents were not welcoming, and who can blame them. Not recommended as a "tourist" trip - only if you're going to go there with a group that's trying to make a difference!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roborider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Odd place to tour”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Exploited! This is really not a tour location. It is a slum area. I've lived close by for the last few years and I occasionally go there for various reasons. Kibera is often times the 'poster child' for the poor place in Africa because it's so accessible. If you appreciate it for what it is, it's actually a pretty great place. Lots of little places to eat, places to buy local art, etc. But it is unwise for tourists to go here. I know a number of people who have been robbed by large gangs in broad daylight and you wouldn't be able to make your way around without a guide anyways.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zulusafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibera also viewed

 

Been to Kibera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing