We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility”
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
Ranked #29 of 262 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

When we turned of the main road towards Shalom House, I was disappointed but the disappointment was short lived, once we entered the gates, the place looked misplaced.

Shalom House is beautiful, the staff are pleasant to deal with, trust able and efficient. The room I stayed in was not perfect but for a guest house, I found it to be nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is monotonous but tasty and the food was good in the evenings.

Loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms on second floor are quieter than the others as they are way above and helps avoid the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Make no mistake about it, Shalom place is a modest hostel type accommodation. But for my needs it was perfect! Doing charity work at Cheryl's Children Home was a quick 5 minute walk away, and all the sights in Nairobi that I wanted to see were only a 15-20 minute drive from Shalom,The guest house is safe, clean, includes breakfast, internet and is easy on the pockets.
It is perfect for groups and has been absolutely a god send for me! I travel alone when I do charity work and safety, cleanliness, internet are all musts!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarinabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at the Shalom House prior to a Safari. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly.
The facility is surrounded by a tall fence and guarded entrance. We were with a reasonably large group that arrived all hours of the night - no one had significant issues with getting into their rooms. The rooms were definitely modest, generally clean. I had double room with two twin size beds and a balcony to sit out and look out at the court yard. I had a difficulty figuring out how to turn the hot water heater on - but once I did, the shower ran nice and hot. If you wanted bottled water, that was extra and did not come with the room. The breakfast was great. The hotel is about 1KM from the Junction mall in Nairobi. It was a quick walk during the day - but watch out for cars. It felt somewhat Darwinian walking along the street. At the junction is a grocery store (water was definitely cheaper) and the mall was pleasant with some nice art stores, bakery and places to get minutes on a pre-paid phone. Overall - it's a modest place with a modest price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dough_47N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Kind and patient staff.
Good mixture of clients, young, old, Africans and Westerness.
.
Good location with affordable services of restaurants. Also safaries are offert.

Shopping Mall "Junction" in 15 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms are practically furnished and luckely with mosquitonets as there where many mosquitos. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187371Mimi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights after winding down from being on a road trip and exploring Africa. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Great location, walking distance to the shopping mall. Set in secure, peaceful grounds where you can watch the many bird life. Very reasonably priced, clean standard room, breakfast included and good wifi. The restaurant has a nice selection of meals and the staff are very helpful. I would return and stay again.

Asante Sana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renata504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and I and some friends recently stayed at Shalom House prior to doing a safari trip. It's a great deal for the price, and has two onsite restaurants to boot. The rooms were clean and the mattresses nice and firm. It was pretty noisy most of the day Sunday as next door is a church and they had outside services and singing all day long. not a big deal, though. there is also a shopping center conveniently located nearby in case you need to do any shopping. they also have free wifi. I've stayed there before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shalom House provide hostel type accommodation for travellers. It is affordable, free wifi, good food in dinning room. Don't expect much in the room. It is very basic. 10 minutes walk to nearby "Junction" shopping mall. Could be dangerous to walk outside after dark. Good for mountain climbers in Tanzania, or safari trips.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room that face the back-side garage....dogs bark all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#55 of 164 in Nairobi
97 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Yaya Hotel & Apartments
Yaya Hotel & Apartments
#64 of 164 in Nairobi
7 reviews
Eden Suite & Lounge
#47 of 262 in Nairobi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Godial's Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 262 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Eldon Villas Limited
#12 of 204 in Nairobi
84 reviews
Karen Inn & Suites
#56 of 262 in Nairobi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing