We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Oasis of Tranquility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shalom House
Ranked #26 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

When we turned of the main road towards Shalom House, I was disappointed but the disappointment was short lived, once we entered the gates, the place looked misplaced.

Shalom House is beautiful, the staff are pleasant to deal with, trust able and efficient. The room I stayed in was not perfect but for a guest house, I found it to be nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is monotonous but tasty and the food was good in the evenings.

Loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms on second floor are quieter than the others as they are way above and helps avoid the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Make no mistake about it, Shalom place is a modest hostel type accommodation. But for my needs it was perfect! Doing charity work at Cheryl's Children Home was a quick 5 minute walk away, and all the sights in Nairobi that I wanted to see were only a 15-20 minute drive from Shalom,The guest house is safe, clean, includes breakfast, internet and is easy on the pockets.
It is perfect for groups and has been absolutely a god send for me! I travel alone when I do charity work and safety, cleanliness, internet are all musts!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarinabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at the Shalom House prior to a Safari. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly.
The facility is surrounded by a tall fence and guarded entrance. We were with a reasonably large group that arrived all hours of the night - no one had significant issues with getting into their rooms. The rooms were definitely modest, generally clean. I had double room with two twin size beds and a balcony to sit out and look out at the court yard. I had a difficulty figuring out how to turn the hot water heater on - but once I did, the shower ran nice and hot. If you wanted bottled water, that was extra and did not come with the room. The breakfast was great. The hotel is about 1KM from the Junction mall in Nairobi. It was a quick walk during the day - but watch out for cars. It felt somewhat Darwinian walking along the street. At the junction is a grocery store (water was definitely cheaper) and the mall was pleasant with some nice art stores, bakery and places to get minutes on a pre-paid phone. Overall - it's a modest place with a modest price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dough_47N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Kind and patient staff.
Good mixture of clients, young, old, Africans and Westerness.
.
Good location with affordable services of restaurants. Also safaries are offert.

Shopping Mall "Junction" in 15 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms are practically furnished and luckely with mosquitonets as there where many mosquitos. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187371Mimi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights after winding down from being on a road trip and exploring Africa. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Great location, walking distance to the shopping mall. Set in secure, peaceful grounds where you can watch the many bird life. Very reasonably priced, clean standard room, breakfast included and good wifi. The restaurant has a nice selection of meals and the staff are very helpful. I would return and stay again.

Asante Sana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renata504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and I and some friends recently stayed at Shalom House prior to doing a safari trip. It's a great deal for the price, and has two onsite restaurants to boot. The rooms were clean and the mattresses nice and firm. It was pretty noisy most of the day Sunday as next door is a church and they had outside services and singing all day long. not a big deal, though. there is also a shopping center conveniently located nearby in case you need to do any shopping. they also have free wifi. I've stayed there before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shalom House provide hostel type accommodation for travellers. It is affordable, free wifi, good food in dinning room. Don't expect much in the room. It is very basic. 10 minutes walk to nearby "Junction" shopping mall. Could be dangerous to walk outside after dark. Good for mountain climbers in Tanzania, or safari trips.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room that face the back-side garage....dogs bark all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.7 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#53 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Guest House
Hibiscus Guest House
#25 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mdawida Homestay
Mdawida Homestay
#15 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.9 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#21 of 234 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Suite & Lounge
Eden Suite & Lounge
#48 of 234 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Shalom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing