We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“brief stay prior to safari” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shalom House
Ranked #26 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brief stay prior to safari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and I and some friends recently stayed at Shalom House prior to doing a safari trip. It's a great deal for the price, and has two onsite restaurants to boot. The rooms were clean and the mattresses nice and firm. It was pretty noisy most of the day Sunday as next door is a church and they had outside services and singing all day long. not a big deal, though. there is also a shopping center conveniently located nearby in case you need to do any shopping. they also have free wifi. I've stayed there before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shalom House provide hostel type accommodation for travellers. It is affordable, free wifi, good food in dinning room. Don't expect much in the room. It is very basic. 10 minutes walk to nearby "Junction" shopping mall. Could be dangerous to walk outside after dark. Good for mountain climbers in Tanzania, or safari trips.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room that face the back-side garage....dogs bark all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely grounds in a quiet suburb. Onsite restaurant prepares fantastic food. Staff was responsive to our booking and request. Room is clean but spartan, and water heater never worked which is the main downside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank umfridus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libreville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and i loved this hotel,it is located in a very quite place,no noise,the rooms are very clean,the breakfast is heavy and delicious,the front officers are helpful,friendly and professionals and i was amazed to find one of them speaks a good french,i felt very gd to ask some directions and help in my language
,but the downpoint of shalom house,it is located far from city center which add some charges to your plan,i can recommend it to any friend of mine.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 879beat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm amazed at all the great reviews here. Sure it's cheapish at 5000ksh a night for a couple but so is sleeping in a carboard box. The attitude at the front desk was awful. When we checked in it was "give me the money and I'll show you to your room" and that's a quote. We booked a double room a week in advance and when he showed us the room, two small single beds. So he told us our room had a problem with the toilet. The beds had matresses at most 4" thick foam so were pretty hard. The mosquito nets were full of holes mixed with some patched up with Duct Tape. We went to shower at 11pm but no hot water. Nairobi water in June is absolutely freezing so we just didn't shower. There were some good points. It was clean and the breakfast was good. But I will never stay here again. Spent the next night at Best Western. It was 2 times the price but 100 times better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and I agree with the previous reviews. The staff was friendly (tnx Julius for all the tips and directions) and professional, rooms are clean, spacious as well as the bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast was good as well as the traditional Kenyan dinner. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale76ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location, walking distance to a main shopping center. In most cases you'll get anywhere quicker in Nairobi by walking : ) the breakfast was lovely, coffee, tea, eggs, bread. The staff was kind and helpful. The property is beautiful and well kept. Make sure you close the window and use your mosquito net!! Mosquitos are really terrible in Nairobi and I got over 50 bites on one foot... No malaria though . I would stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mermaidyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.7 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#51 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Guest House
Hibiscus Guest House
#25 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mdawida Homestay
Mdawida Homestay
#14 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.9 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#21 of 234 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Suite & Lounge
Eden Suite & Lounge
#48 of 234 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Shalom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing