We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shalom House
Ranked #21 of 226 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm amazed at all the great reviews here. Sure it's cheapish at 5000ksh a night for a couple but so is sleeping in a carboard box. The attitude at the front desk was awful. When we checked in it was "give me the money and I'll show you to your room" and that's a quote. We booked a double room a week in advance and when he showed us the room, two small single beds. So he told us our room had a problem with the toilet. The beds had matresses at most 4" thick foam so were pretty hard. The mosquito nets were full of holes mixed with some patched up with Duct Tape. We went to shower at 11pm but no hot water. Nairobi water in June is absolutely freezing so we just didn't shower. There were some good points. It was clean and the breakfast was good. But I will never stay here again. Spent the next night at Best Western. It was 2 times the price but 100 times better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and I agree with the previous reviews. The staff was friendly (tnx Julius for all the tips and directions) and professional, rooms are clean, spacious as well as the bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast was good as well as the traditional Kenyan dinner. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale76ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location, walking distance to a main shopping center. In most cases you'll get anywhere quicker in Nairobi by walking : ) the breakfast was lovely, coffee, tea, eggs, bread. The staff was kind and helpful. The property is beautiful and well kept. Make sure you close the window and use your mosquito net!! Mosquitos are really terrible in Nairobi and I got over 50 bites on one foot... No malaria though . I would stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mermaidyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I picked Shalom House based on the rave reviews and was not disappointed. The staff was communicative over email before I arrived, and they were flexible about my length of stay. When I checked in very early, they had my room ready and let me eat breakfast on the house. My room was clean and secure. The area outside my room could get noisy, but earplugs took care of the problem for me. The reception staff was always happy to arrange transportation. The only downside of Shalom House is that it's a bit far from Nairobi's downtown, which adds some cost to the stay if you're commuting in each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I do not think in Nairobi one can find such good standard of accomodation at a lower price. And on top of it a helpful, friendly and smiling staff. A special thank to the efficent manager. Any problem is solved in a short time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and will be back for fourth visit soon. Great staff who are always very helpful and nice clean rooms, very good value for money. Safe place to stay while in the area and I would recommend it to anyone going there. Lovely restaurant next door with great food and staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good prices, good simple food, clean rooms, relaxing garden, but above all peaceful and friendly reception in a town that is difficult and sometime dangerous. I'll be back next time I visit my friends in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Provvido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
The Ndemi Place
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Shalom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing