We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shalom House
Ranked #26 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and will be back for fourth visit soon. Great staff who are always very helpful and nice clean rooms, very good value for money. Safe place to stay while in the area and I would recommend it to anyone going there. Lovely restaurant next door with great food and staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good prices, good simple food, clean rooms, relaxing garden, but above all peaceful and friendly reception in a town that is difficult and sometime dangerous. I'll be back next time I visit my friends in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Provvido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was in Shalom House for the months of April and May 2012 on a work holiday. in a busy context that is a characteristic Nairobi city, Shalom presented a wonderful and serene environment that facilitates both relax and concentration. as a social enterprise of Koinonia Community its service to the marginalized members of the society is quite an inspiration. The rooms are well maintained, excellent service and the staff is professional, friendly and available. It is quite an experience of the real African Social spirit that is priceless..... thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms in wing A are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bokada b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I was in Shalom House with four friends, attendind an international conference nearby.
The rooms are clean, food abundant and well prepared.Above all the staff is friendly and helpful, always smiling and ready to assist, and in a difficult town like Nairobi this is a great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pier giorgio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was in Kenya last year ago for some journalistic work. In Nairobi, I stayed at Shalom House. It is managed by Koinonia, a socially-minded community whose earnings are used to support the under-privileged, especially street children. Shalom House is a rather new building, located in a good city’s area. It is a haven of quietness and safety. The installations are clean. The staff is very welcoming. I enjoyed the accommodation and I recommend it to all tourists and travelers. If it happens to go back once more - what I wish - I'll surely get accommodation at Shallom House. Jose A. Rebelo - Manila, Philippines

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZeRebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was in Shalom House for two weeks in August 2010 on holidays and to visit some social project of Koinonia Community. The rooms are clean and the personnel very friendly and helpful. The food is well prepared and abundant. The big secure garden a welcome relax after the hectic ways of Nairobi. A great value for money. An homely and youthful atmosphere. Will make sure to go back.
SILVIA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferruccio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was part of our first trip to Kenya and we couldn't have been more impressed. The place is well-situated, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food and rooms are more than adequate. We were impressed and would recommend this to anyonw who asked.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2loveless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.7 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#51 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Guest House
Hibiscus Guest House
#25 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mdawida Homestay
Mdawida Homestay
#14 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.9 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#21 of 234 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Suite & Lounge
Eden Suite & Lounge
#48 of 234 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Shalom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing