We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
Save
You added Shalom House to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was in Kenya last year ago for some journalistic work. In Nairobi, I stayed at Shalom House. It is managed by Koinonia, a socially-minded community whose earnings are used to support the under-privileged, especially street children. Shalom House is a rather new building, located in a good city’s area. It is a haven of quietness and safety. The installations are clean. The staff is very welcoming. I enjoyed the accommodation and I recommend it to all tourists and travelers. If it happens to go back once more - what I wish - I'll surely get accommodation at Shallom House. Jose A. Rebelo - Manila, Philippines

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZeRebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was in Shalom House for two weeks in August 2010 on holidays and to visit some social project of Koinonia Community. The rooms are clean and the personnel very friendly and helpful. The food is well prepared and abundant. The big secure garden a welcome relax after the hectic ways of Nairobi. A great value for money. An homely and youthful atmosphere. Will make sure to go back.
SILVIA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferruccio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was part of our first trip to Kenya and we couldn't have been more impressed. The place is well-situated, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food and rooms are more than adequate. We were impressed and would recommend this to anyonw who asked.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2loveless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

i was there on business and the staff are really excellent: understanding, polite, considerate and attentive to guests' needs. The place is safe and in a secure environment very close town. The rooms are great and the food: you gona leak your fingers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulenga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

i visited shalom house for the first time in 2001...it was under construction!
I flew back to Nairobi in 2004 and stayed there for 3 weeks with my husband. it's a comfortable place, hot water ,nice and clean single, double or multiple rooms. The conforts of the hotels at a cheaper price!
People are kind and open to help you to set up your daily schedule in Nairobi.Shalom house is the right place to stay if you don't want to live the stress of the downtown. There is a fabulous garden, perfect also for families with children. it's a safe place with guardians,there are two restaurants and a warm atmosphere.
we fly to nairobi almost every year and we always choose to stay in Shalom House.
Laura &Piero (Milano)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piero Laura Mus... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

You have all the services that are needed: spatious and clean rooms, Internet, good service, green yard to relax, two restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanoRMarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had a very good experience at Shalom House. The facilities were clean & spacious, the atmosphere was warm & friendly and the staff were courteous & professional at all times. I can recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudyV551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#25 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
4.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Property: Shalom House
Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing