We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Nairobi Mamba Village
Ranked #15 of 123 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa’s largest crocodile farm.
Colma, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Liked: having guides talk about the crocodiles, turtles and giraffes
Disliked: Expensive for non-Kenyans but there's not a lot to see

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    103
    88
    32
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crocodile Park”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kids will love it. Good value if you're going in as a local, probably not worth it if you're paying the tourist rates. May be worth a visit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank anoop l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having visited Haller Park many times which has crocodiles and many other animals, I expected Mamba Village to be sub par since its focus is mainly crocs. However, it was pretty good and interesting to see Big Daddy. I went at 4pm on Friday as other reviewers had recommended (Big Daddy is fed at 5pm every Friday) and I enjoyed it. I did pretty much everything - photos with an African Python, a baby croc and took a guide through the plants, fish and Snake area which was very interesting. I don't think it would be so interesting to just turn up in the morning or anything but if you turn up at feeding time, I think most people would enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BOOOORING TURISTIC STUFF - stay away”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have you being to the zoo? OK, than this won't interest you. About five snakes in small cages (horrible torcher of annimals) + many crocodiles. Normali, vcoke is 50 KSH, but here much more expensive. Not worth spending time, exept, if you stay for a month or two only in Mombasa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jan1968Slovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Daddy! Croc with over 100 years”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Over 40,000 crocodiles! Never seen so many of them in my life! Really big ones, medium ones, small ones, lessons about there lifestyle, fights, why they fight, Big Daddy has 2 wives!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Mamba Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing