We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eden Gardens
Nearby Hotels
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$193
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
17
16
4
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
16
4
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 49 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Eden Gardens gives you the feeling that you are in your own house with paid for domestic services. My wife and I felt that we were living in our own house in Nairobi and the service was quite personalized. A driver was available, a cook, a gardener etc.

Lavington is a very quiet and serene part of Nairobi and it provided a very good place for my wife and I to spend some quiet time together away from the hustle and bustle of down-town. It can also be a good weekend getaway for residents of Kenya.

Room Tip: Pick any room and you'll be fine.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferdinand E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This a tough review to write. Tough because all the positive things said about Eden Gardens in other reviews posted here are absolutely true. Especially the wonderful staff.

But, and it's a huge but, Eden Gardens is a death trap. The facility has every window covered by steel bars. The two doors to the outside have steel gates. In the evening these gates are closed and locked with hardware that requires a key to unlock. Note that guest room keys will not unlock the exit doors. There are no smoke detectors anywhere--not in my room, not in the hallways, not in the common room.

The bars on the windows are sufficiently strong that you will not be able to kick your way out. The same is true of the gates on the exit doors.

In the evening there is someone on duty but that person goes to bed sometime after midnight.

What this means is that smoke from a fire having started, for example, in the kitchen or common room, would entirely engulf the place before anyone knew what had happened. If anyone would awaken--most people don't, they die in their sleep from the smoke--the hallway and exit door areas would be filled with smoke from ceiling to floor. There is no way the evening attendant would be able to locate the exit door's locks and evacuate the guests.

Now, I realize this cage-the-bad-guys-out is the "norm" in Kenya for this price point. Nonetheless, at the very least the owners need to install smoke detectors throughout. They should be linked so that when one alarms they all do. Second, guests should be provided keys that will allow them to open the exit doors--they could check them in/out to prevent them from leaving the guesthouse. Third, night staff should not be permitted to sleep.

Ideally, an integrated alarm system, true exit doors that don't require unlocking and operable exits from each room would be best. But, probably too expensive given the size of the place.

If you are intent on staying at Eden Gardens you should bring with you a hacksaw with extra blades (18tpi) and a couple of smoke detectors. Seriously.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Canoe2Freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Communications were excellent - Endre is fast at responding to inquiries. The staff is great and very helpful.

My room (shared bathroom) was small, but fine. It was very quiet and after months of living near Mombasa, it is nice to be able to sleep under the covers (and without a fan).

The bathroom was a bit dated, as another reviewer noted, but functional.

Breakfast was delicious, made-to-order, and much more than I could eat.

The only glitch I had was transport as it is a bit tricky getting around if you don't have a car or can afford taxis (taxis in Nairobi are overpriced). It is a bit of a trek (walk to main road and then 2 matatus) to get to/from town, but once you figure it out, it is fine. I talked to Endre about the directions to the hotel and he is correcting what is on the internet.

All in all, good value and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ange3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great low-medium priced option in Nairobi, especially if you have a car. It is located on a beautiful street with easy access to Nakumatt Junction Mall and Valley Arcade. It is the best place we have stayed in Nairobi at this price.

The rooms are very spacious and the linens extremely comfortable. The internet is fast.

The bathrooms are average, probably the biggest drawback of the B+B. But they are clean and functional.

There is a matatu stage about ten minutes walk if you need to take public transport to town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodkidhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at five different hotels in Nairobi. Eden Gardens ranks at the number two spot of them all (overall). If I factor in price, Eden Gardens ranks number one. Eden Gardens is currently undergoing renovations and that is the only improvement necessary. I would love to see it in a year's time.
The staff are AWESOME. They are beautiful and very attentive. The hotel was VERY CLEAN. Internet service was the best that I ever experienced in Nairobi. I am not a food critic, but breakfast was EXTREMELY good. The staff made whatever I wanted and I must say that it was very tasty.
Upon both arrival and departure, Endre came out to greet me. I never experienced this in any Nairobi or any other city hotel. The reservations were also smooth and professional. The location is also great. The running stream could be heard at night and made for a restful sleep.
All being said - I WILL DEFINITELY RETURN.

Room Tip: Back Room is best
Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ron1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews