We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A hidden gem in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Gardens
Ranked #118 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed for a week at Eden Gardens in Nairobi together with my wife and it was a very pleasant experience. Eden Gardens is located in the upscale area of Lavington and it is very nice to walk around in the area. It is very green and peaceful here with several nice restaurants around. (You might have to take a taxi to get there)

The hotel itself has everything you would need with fast internet and excellent service. It is a laid back atmosphere and the staff is more then willing to have a chat. I loved relaxing in the wonderful garden next to the pool.

Breakfast was great, and I love their omelette.

It is the best deal I ever got in Nairobi,and I think I will be staying at Eden Gardens when I am in town.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
17
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Eden Gardens was more than expected. It has an amazing garden that is perfect for functions. The rooms are very nice and cosy, and the staff is very service minded and hard working. Me and my husband stayed in Eden for totally 2 weeks and for one of the weeks we had company from friends and family from Norway. I am very happy I found Eden Gardens when me and my husband where looking for a venue. We really had a beautiful wedding, and we would definitly stay in Eden again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona_Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi-KE
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Eden Gardens is totally out of this world....from the warm reception at the entrance, to the friendly staff who were all smiles throughout this experience,i most certainly recommend this amazing heaven to friends who wish to have a quiet get-away without having to leave the city. The ambiance is just fantastic;room colours set to match your mood of the day, breathtaking natural scenery, fantastic pool experience....so much to say i could write all day!

Thanks so much for this magical experience right in the heart of this extremely busy city :-)
We'll definitely be back for more! 7 star service worked out just perfect....

Room Tip: Purple-coloured room;superb for a romantic getaway :-) 100% sound-proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie_ramona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Enre (the owner), organized for me to be picked up from the airport at 1 am! Even though he was not in town, he made sure everything was awesome.

The price is VERY affordable and it is located in ht posh part of town but not far away from places I wanted to visit.

In summary, when next I or any friends of mine will be visiting Nairobi, this is where they will be staying.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room that had a shared bathroom. But The other room was vacant so I did not nee...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OoTheNigerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Eden Gardens was a refferal through a common friend of myself and Endre, I was not the least bit dissapointed and could not believe my luck to discover Eden gardens, a beautiful, intimate, exquisite and cosy guest house with lots of greenery, a river flowing through the compound and a swimming pool all in an upmarket and tranquil location.

Our host Endre was extremely hospitable, very patient as he waited up for us when we arrived late (at 9pm) and was quick to respond to calls and texts. He showed us around the cottage and was quick to attend to our needs.

We loved the interior design in the cottage as everything from wall paint to furniture was well thought out. It is cosily furnished and we actually felt like we were at home! It has a big screen TV (a plus for all men:-)) cable, DVD home theatre, a collection of movies, Internet. Swimming pool is a big plus and was therapeutic to watch the river flowing by.

The cook made great food as we had an opportunity to sample her breakfast and lunch.

I am definately going back to Eden gardens in the next few weeks for another relaxing weekend getaway. Perfect location at an unbeatable price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Eden Gardens is run by an enthusiastic staff who are both easy-going and flexible. This is by far the value add of this homey, informal little place.

The accommodation is of a good quality for this price range. It's in a good area and it's centrally located (equidistant to everywhere, but out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre.) I would recommend it as a jumping off spot in Nairobi or for longer term travellers looking for a reasonably priced place to stay.

I have been ripped off before by B&Bs in Nairobi (the no-natural-light, sub-divided houses, tiny rooms, boudoir decor, sorry about the WIFI but that'll still be USD100 variety) and I was pleasantly surprised on all fronts by this one.

As it is in the photos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokemaki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were the first quest of this beutiful and homey questhouse! Our trip in Kenya was full of suprising and new experiences and our hoast Endre was one of those who made it possible! He has a skill to fix all the problems and create a nice and relaxing atmosphere with his personality. The place was still in progress, but we could enjoy already the green and peaceful environment. Neighborhood is nice for walks and you can easily get a taxi to the nearest shopping center. We definitely come back to Eden Gardens on our next Kenya trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElinaTorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Qaribu Inn
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
#55 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#20 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Gardens

Property: Eden Gardens
Address: 26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Gardens is situated in a homely lush garden in the heart of Lavington just 6km from the centre of one of Africa’s most vibrant capital cities, Nairobi. Eden Gardens is a small haven of peace, intimacy and tranquility. With only 5 rooms, it is more than a home away from home.Whether you’re in Nairobi for a night or a month, Eden Gardens has something to suit your needs.Try us. If you like the sound of birds, wind in the trees, and green lawns with a river running by, yet you need to be close to the action, then Eden Gardens is for you. Conveniently located in the Lavington suburb of Nairobi, Eden Gardens has easy access to the major highways and is less than 2 minutes from James Gichuru Road. What's more, the Lavington Shopping Centre is within walking distance where there is access to banks, hairdressers and a supermarket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing