We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Food for the go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #61 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is near village market
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food for the go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The menu had a variety of dishes and the service was okay. We were well attended to. They accept card payment and it was therefore convenient to pay for the group meals. The ambience was relaxing and it worked well since we had an infant with us. The food was tasty but I felt that the servings could be more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaac N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    53
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Declining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I first went to Adams arcade Java house years ago and was impressed. `Lots of expats and reasonable food. I went with a friend this July and service was slow and food just ok and they even gave me the bill before I had finished eating!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Croissants in Kenya are found here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service at Java is quite good and they have the best almond croissants in Kenya. There are a number of options in venue but I prefer Junction and Valley Arcade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best ice tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very good food..American type food. Cold ice tea is not common in Kenya, but Java House had excellent ice tea. Also prices were very reasonable for Nairobi.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the long slow decline continues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

took my first breakfast at Java the first week they opened in '96 in Adams arcade and continued as a fan for many years... but my how the corporate culture of Java has changed... in those Adam's days, the manager, Ben, would do everything from sweep to wipe off tables to help waiters carry the load during peak times... this Texan knew Java was in trouble the first time I got a burrito with something labeled "ranchero" sauce that was nothing of the sort... haven't been a Java customer for many years, but decided to try the place in Westgate since I frequent that mall now... Admitedly, we were there opening week, but it was chaos... no one seemed to knwo what they were doing... and in a total corporate shift, we asked an assistant manager for another bottle of water and she said, "I'll get your waiter." In the old days, the managers would have done anything... we've tried coffee or breakfast at the cavernously empty Gigiri branch a few times, but the service is so damn slow, even for just a coffee, that i walked in and found my waitress actually leaning on the bar... thankful that a few new places in nairobi have much better food... and better service...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing