We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic wrapper found in the food and refusal to remove the dish from the bill”

Mediterraneo Ristorante
Ranked #113 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Highridge
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante in Gigiri is a charming, Italian-villa style venue with beautiful outdoor seating and expansive gardens that make any meal memorable, whether a special occasion or an everyday affair. We are dedicated to recreating an authentic Italian dining experience in Nairobi, importing everything from prosciutto and pasta to our kitchen equipment straight from the old country, and making everything else from scratch.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Plastic wrapper found in the food and refusal to remove the dish from the bill”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our friends invited us for dinner to Mediterraneo Gigiri. The starters were enjoyable. The problem was with the main course dish of lamb, we found a piece of white plastic in the jus, we alerted our waiter Henry and he took the plastic to the chef in the kitchen. Henry returned to our table and advised that the chef sent his apologies and that the plastic was from when the food was wrapped and in the fridge. I found it most unprofessional for a chef to send an apology for a serious issue via a waiter, the restaurant was extremely quiet and the chef could have taken two minutes to walk to our table and apologize himself. When we received the bill, the lamb dish was on the bill, this is really poor service again. We asked to see the manager, the manager never came, we believe that our waiter and/or the chef tried to cover up this incident from the management. So we had to pay for a meal with a piece of plastic in it and receive no explanation or apology direct from the chef or the management. Extremely disappointing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fair italian food at a pleasant terrace”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Large and classic choice of pasta, pizza, focacce, beef fillets ... Good service but it can be long in this busy place. Main asset are the pleasant terrace and location if you live or work near the UN area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NINE WEST- NEW BRANCH”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The ambiance of this restaurant is pleasant but sadly the quality of food and presentation varies from day to day. Very disappointing service with the waiters having minimal knowledge on the special menu or suggestions. The quality of the pasta sauces were appalling ; watery , lack of any salt or taste- pasta over cooked and broken. The garnishing wilted / dead leaves- and to make matters worse, served cold! One had to ask for pepper and parmesan cheese ! The pizza was cold by the time it got to the table! Just very over rated, over priced and lack of taste. Our group was disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifestyleIncorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best pasta”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

you can never complain about the food a and service.
For so many years i have been visiting the taste and the standard they have maintained is over excellent.The Gigiri place has a nice setting in the garden and service to excellence.
we tried as a group different vegetarian pastas and we couldn't come to a conclusion which was the best. all were properly cooked in different sauces.
Prices are comparitively fair but not cheap.
I would surely recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Food and ambiance to go with it”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food-slightly out of town but near Village Market - very secure area near UN building - great food with outdoors seating area. The perfect evening - will def go back

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bambino145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing