We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
269
17
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
269
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives nairobi national park relief manager beautiful lodge highly recommend this lodge late supper bush babies major city black and white rhino safari lodge wilson airport first stop african adventure elephant orphanage en route busy nairobi lounge area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 287 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

At last We made it to Emakoko..
what a beautiful lodge. Absolutely amazing service and food, wow... Just a spit away from Nairobi National Park. Beautiful get away for a weekend, or anytime actually. Thank you Emma and Anton..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So lovely to have you here and we hope to see you again.
Thank you,
Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

The Emakoko is one of those places you never wish to leave. Close to Nairobi yet totally removed from the frenetic city, everything was simply perfect. The warm hospitable welcome from Anthony and Emma set the tone right from the start, for a truly memorable stay.

Rooms are spacious with every kind of luxury and the attention to detail is second to none. Top quality, high thread count cotton bedding, fragrant and luxurious toiletries, spacious verandah, vases of roses, mosquito net, fabulous shower and deep bath, plenty of hot water, bath robes and slippers and a safe.

The swimming pool was an added bonus as were the sun beds, the food is delicious and flavoursome, the bar well stocked.

The lounge area with its deep sofas and chairs with blankets for the evening chill, overlooking the valley, was a perfect place to relax after an amazing game drive. We saw two rhinos sparring to gain supremacy of their territory and had sun downers next to a roaring lion.

Staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble and the whole lodge feels supremely secure and a home from home.

We will return! Ali from Nairobi and Penn from Winchester.

Was this helpful?

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank PennWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you so very much for your lovely review - we loved having you here and hope to see you again!

Emma & Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

This was the last night of our trip booked with the wonderful Africa Travel Resource.
Our flight home was at midnight so we paid for a night and a day rate.
We loved
Location: inside park, beautiful views. Monkeys, dassies, giraffes visit property. Lots of birds around
Rooms: ours was a bit old fashioned and dark looking but very comfortable. Great bed
Activities: our guide was lovely and we had a great drive out.
Food: very special and yummy. No choices so be very clear with dietary needs

We had a lovely relaxing stay and I would consider this hotel again

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

It was lovely to have you here and thank you for writing in. We hope to see you again!
All the best,

Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

The lodge was outstanding. The food, exquisite. The people, lovely. We stayed for two nights and it was great. The only "complaint" would be that the windows don't have screens so you have to keep them closed so the monkeys and hyraxes (sp?) don't come in and mess with stuff. I guess I can forgive that because the place has plenty of monkeys and hyraxes to come in and mess with stuff. :)

The game drives in the adjacent Nairobi National Park weren't to shabby either.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We will look into putting in screens to the rooms, this will certainly be a huge help and reduce our Rose consumption from the hyrax population!
Hope to you have you here again.
Thank you,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

The Emakoko is truly a rare find. I had booked another hotel in Karen when I found reviews on this lodge. Changed my reservations, best decision I ever made. The Emakoko is more than just a nice boutique hotel, it offers a true Safari experience!
The rooms are individual casitas which are beautifuly decorated and nicely appointed (with in-room safe, excellent toiletries, hair dryer, etc)...and the fresh roses were an unexpected surprise.
The food is excellent and beautifully presented, puts the Four Seasons to shame...
The room rate includes pickup/drop off at Kenyatta and Wilson airports, which I found to be a tremendous benefit. Our driver was waiting for us upon arrival (with a big smile) and took us to the Sheldrick orphanage, then on a game drive to the lodge. Saw amazing animals within 15 mins of leaving the airport.
The private 2 bedroom house is amazing, with wonderful views and it's own pool.
Our family spent 1 night on our way to the Marra, then had a day room before our return to the States.
Tip...stay more than 1 day, you will not be disappointed. I know I will next longer next time :)
I booked direct with the lodge, excellent communication and extremely helpful. Would book direct again.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2019

Thank you so very much for such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you here, even though it was for a short time!
We hope to see you again.
Anthony & Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews