We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to end a holiday in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oberageri, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best way to end a holiday in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We just spend a few hours at Emakoko before our flight back to Europe. What an amazing place, warm welcome, outstanding service, amazing food and wine, very nice rooms. There is no better place to stay near Nairobi!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your post, and I am sorry that you did not stay very long with us.

We look forward to having you again one day.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a regular visitor to Kenya, I am always looking for the perfect place to land for a couple of days before or after venturing out into the bush. There are many nice places to stay, but after finding The Emakoko I will look no further. Their hospitality is extraordinary, the rooms are large and elegant and perfectly equipped, and the food is great. All this in the Nairobi National Park, just a short drive from the international airport! Wildlife is all around, and it is an instant way to feel as if you are on safari. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eljo2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you consider us a 'home away from home'.

Karibu Tena!

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I thought I'd written a review of this fantastic Lodge/Hotel but had not so excuse the late posting.

I travelled here in October 2013 and stayed here for two nights, one night either side of my trip to the Masai Mara. The overnight flight from London to JKIA was a busy flight and we got little or no sleep and arrived earlier at Emakoko than most guests. To get to The Emakoko you have to drive through Nairobi National Park, so were treated to our first game drive of the trip. The very first large mammal that we encountered was a lone bull White Rhino and this was about 300 metres after we entered the park. Lion, Giraffe, Zebra, Eland and Black Rhino were all seen before we arrived at the Lodge.

The welcome was superb and in a flash an unexpected breakfast arrived. We were shown to our amazing room which overlooked the river and I arranged with Antony to go around the grounds birdwatching for a couple of hours. A fantastic lunch then an afternoon game drive with Peter with more Black & White Rhino and finished with a sunset spectacle with Marabou perched on Acacia trees.

The evening was like being at dinner party with old friends as Emma & Antony arranged the tables into one long table shared by all the guests that evening. The conversation (and wine) flowed throughout the night with Emma & Antony being the perfect hosts. The next morning we were up early with another great breakfast before being transferred to Wilson airport for our flight to The Mara

We returned five days later and again had for another overnight stay which included another game drive before picking up our stored luggage and headed to the coast for a week of relaxation. It would be hard to pick a highlight of our experience of The Emakoko but I will never forget my wife finding our first Lion, a male some 15-feet from the car with 6 Eland about 20-yards away completely unaware of his presence. Nor will I ever erase the memory of following a lone male bull White Rhino down to the Athi dam where he stopped for a drink whilst looking at his reflection in the still lake water. OR even finding the small covey of Yellow-throated Sandgrouse again drinking at the Athi Dam.

A great start and finish to our first safari experience and is highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always such a feather in ones cap to hear so many lovely things being written about us all.
It has been a while since you were here last, but with the dry season kicking in we are inundated with wildlife in the lodge. Only a week ago, we had a black Rhino outside room 2 in the early hours of the morning. A first for the lodge and something I am sure you would have appreciated.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here as a special anniversary surprise for my husband. What a fantastic decision! From the moment we arrived, we were utterly charmed by the place.......it's location, the accommodation (huge and luxurious, without being ostentatious), the food, and, last but not least, the whole staff team. Emma and Anton are both friendly, sociable hosts who are easy to talk to, and interesting and informative. This, along with an incredible Game drive prior to our arrival, ensured the most memorable of days! We shall return. Thank you, Emakoko!

Room Tip: There are 130 steps to the cliff top rooms........but it is worth the effort for the fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MombasaMad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This really is a special place! In the heart of the Nairobi National Park there is the prospect of seeing all kinds of wildlife around the facility, including a resident hippo ironically named "Tinker". For those of a nervous disposition do not fear, rangers and Masai are on hand (and in number) at all times of day and night. The hotel itself is glorious. As you drop down into the valley you're greeted with the main building behind which are the villas, decorating the southern hillside. In the middle of the valley is a small swimming pool and flatland occupied, quite often, by monkeys and baboons. Keep your villa doors shut! A wise word of warning from the owners on arrival. Turning to the owners (Anton and Emma) they and their staff will do everything and more to ensure your stay is first class. The food is top quality, the villas are sizeable, modern and spotless and there is no set routine to adhere to, everything happens when you want it to. That includes a cheeky game drive or two in one of their vehicles. Truly a wonderful and beautiful place run by professional and friendly people. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: All the villas are the same but the lower the villa number the smaller the climb to get there. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again.

Many thanks,
Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Emma and Anton and their amazing team made our holiday and our wedding, unforgettable. The Emakoko is just gorgeous. From the minute you drive down into the secluded valley and cross the bridge, you're transported to somewhere special. A delicious lime and tangawizi cocktail welcomes you to the lodge...that and the smiles on everyones faces...and Pala the friendly impala. The rooms are fantastic, huge beds, a bath with a view over the savanna and natural bath and shower stuff that we're still regretting not taking with us :). The food is just SO good. We could have eaten every minute we were there. Anton even managed to sort out a hippo on the grounds the day before we left, to our total delight.
Long story short, holiday of a lifetime. They really can't do enough for you, going above and beyond the call of duty. We will be back...year on year.

Giant, eternal thanks to everyone at the Emakoko and I heartily, heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayyoueye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just returned home from a wonderful wedding at The Emakoko.

Fantastic setting, great hosts (in Emma & Anthony), lovely rooms and exquisite food made for a perfect wedding weekend!

The visit was topped off with a game drive that took in rhinos and lions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so very much for the review - we were very honoured to have the wedding here and it was wonderful to meet you all. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you,
Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing