We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utter perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Emma and Anton and their amazing team made our holiday and our wedding, unforgettable. The Emakoko is just gorgeous. From the minute you drive down into the secluded valley and cross the bridge, you're transported to somewhere special. A delicious lime and tangawizi cocktail welcomes you to the lodge...that and the smiles on everyones faces...and Pala the friendly impala. The rooms are fantastic, huge beds, a bath with a view over the savanna and natural bath and shower stuff that we're still regretting not taking with us :). The food is just SO good. We could have eaten every minute we were there. Anton even managed to sort out a hippo on the grounds the day before we left, to our total delight.
Long story short, holiday of a lifetime. They really can't do enough for you, going above and beyond the call of duty. We will be back...year on year.

Giant, eternal thanks to everyone at the Emakoko and I heartily, heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayyoueye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just returned home from a wonderful wedding at The Emakoko.

Fantastic setting, great hosts (in Emma & Anthony), lovely rooms and exquisite food made for a perfect wedding weekend!

The visit was topped off with a game drive that took in rhinos and lions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so very much for the review - we were very honoured to have the wedding here and it was wonderful to meet you all. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you,
Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I originally asked our travel agent to just book us somewhere near the airport, as we were arriving on the BA London flight fairly late in the evening. She convinced us that Emakoko was worth it for a first night experience and she was absolutely right!
We arrived at the airport and made our way through passport and luggage pick up and then were met by Peter to drive us to the lodge. Because of poaching issues, you are not allowed to drive through the park at night, but our drive took us along the edge of the park and we saw lots of wildlife. Highlights- silhouette of a giraffe in the distance, zebras, and all sorts of antelope. The drive to the lodge took about 45 minutes.
Once we arrived, we were greeted by Anton and several of the staff, mind you it was past 11 PM by this time, but everyone was most welcoming and had a smile on! They had prepared a light supper of soup and antipasti, as well as some wine and brandy. There seemed to be no rush to send us off to our rooms…it was nice to have a bit of a snack and relax after a long day's travel from Washington!
Anton spent some time chatting with us and telling us a bit about the lodge, again very entertaining!
Off to our rooms after, and they were very pleasant. Spacious, clean, and best of all- a bathtub!! We showered the travel off of us and hopped into a very comfortable bed!
Woke up the next morning to birdsong and a beautiful sunrise. Then it was a cooked breakfast and a bit of time to get ready to go.
We left the lodge pretty early so we could enjoy a game drive through Nairobi Natl Park on our way to Wilson Airport, so glad we did. It was delightful to see various animals and birds. Giraffe, antelope of all kinds, zebra, water buffalo and loads of birds. Peter was our driver again and was great as a guide. He even took us a bit out of our way so I could get the iconic pic of giraffe with the Nairobi skyline in the background!
Eventually, we were delivered to Wilson Airport and Peter stayed with us til we were all checked in and a satellite phone was delivered.
Our only regret was not making the time to spend two nights! We would have enjoyed more time to drive through the Natl Park! Thank you to Anton and all of the staff who made our first night in Kenya a great experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. The Kenya Wildlife Service have been working overtime to ensure that the Rhino's are safe and we hope to be moving through the park again after hours in the near future.
Many thanks,
Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely experience at Emakoko. Went for a two night stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city (I'm a Nairobi resident) and left feeling completely refreshed. Beautiful spacious rooms, delicious food, and the hosts (Anton, Emma and Rachel) were super friendly and helpful. All the staff were just wonderful.

I'll definitely return for some more R&R!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabi_M2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on us - we hope to meet you again.

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic experience. The only bad thing is that most people don't have enough time there. This is located near the National Park, but is actually sort of an oasis in a lush valley. Emakoko is great for safari, two nights recommended at the least. Unfortunately, I only had one night!

Owned by a great couple who lives there with their children. They were incredibly warm and friendly.

Room Tip: There is only one room near the main lodge, all of the others require a lot of walking. The room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again one day.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Emakoko is a charming oasis adjacent to the Nairobi National park. It was a pleasant surprise to be able to drive through the park from the airport passing giraffe and rhinos {and skyscrapers in the distance} and then cross a footbridge to our comfortable lodgings. It is an incredible to be minutes from downtown Nairobi and yet feel like you are still in an upscale camp on safari. Emma and Anthony the hosts and owners are darling and extremely helpful. We actually had to do some work in Dandora and they arranged a fantastic driver for us who stayed with us all day. We were coming and going at all different times and yet there was always a wonderful meal ready to be served to us whenever our time allowed. The bar and restaurant staff were always there to make sure you had anything you wanted. The food was healthy and beautifully prepared and presented, and in the evening with the pool area lit with torches and the pizza oven fired up the whole dining area appears cool and hip. The rooms are large and there is even a bathtub with a view. I do recommend staying on the first level if you have any issue with stairs.....the upper level has magnificent views ; but a lot of stairs to get to those rooms. We have to give a special shout out to our young efficient and enthusiastic drive Peter. At twenty three years old he was wise beyond his years and drove us all over Nairobi and was a total delight to have as a driver and a guide. Make sure you book far in advance Emakoko is small and was already booked for most of July. What a great little treasure Emma and Anthony have created for those who want to start their " safari" the moment they land in Nairobi .

Room Tip: Rooms on the dining level are easier to access; but the rooms on the upper level have great views. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylindy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your most helpful review - we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay with us.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had such a wonderful time here! Emma and Anthony were incredible hosts - very warm and kind family oriented vibe! This was our last camp - we were in Tanzania for our honeymoon and came to Nairobi specifically to go to the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. It was quite a bit of travel to get from Tanzania here but it was completely worth it! We didn't do any game drives but went to the trust and drove through the park, which was amazing. The room was awesome - incredible view - and the food was the best we had during our trip! Really just amazing. The staff was above and beyond words and we would recommend this place to anyone! Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you so very much for writing a review on The Emakoko, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and your short time in Kenya!

Congratulations on your marriage and we hope to see you again sometime.

All the best,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing