We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had such a wonderful time here! Emma and Anthony were incredible hosts - very warm and kind family oriented vibe! This was our last camp - we were in Tanzania for our honeymoon and came to Nairobi specifically to go to the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. It was quite a bit of travel to get from Tanzania here but it was completely worth it! We didn't do any game drives but went to the trust and drove through the park, which was amazing. The room was awesome - incredible view - and the food was the best we had during our trip! Really just amazing. The staff was above and beyond words and we would recommend this place to anyone! Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you so very much for writing a review on The Emakoko, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and your short time in Kenya!

Congratulations on your marriage and we hope to see you again sometime.

All the best,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to The Emakoko to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and to spend some quality time together. We weren't sure what it would be like knowing it was within Nairobi National Park which was still so close to the city. However, we had a wonderful three night stay! Emma and Anthony were so welcoming. The food was exceptional! From presentation to taste to serving size, it was excellent! The waiters were so professional, attentive and extremely happy to serve! The lounge area downstairs was homely and warm. Our room was amazing! It was beautifully big with everything you could ask for and had a lovely view! We could see a lot of the park and even woke up to some animals in the morning, including a rhino! It had a fireplace which got lit every night, and all we had to do was ask! Everything at The Emakoko has been so well thought out. Very well done to Emma and Anthony!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 8. It was an amazing room with an excellent view out to the park because it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on The Emakoko - we hope to have you back again one day.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

WE stayed for one night and I so wished it could have been for longer. The setting is tranquil and peaceful. The views are outstanding. The staff are helpful and anticipate your every need - and indeed your every half spoken thought! The food was lovely. The rooms are beautifully laid out with everything you could wish for, The hosts are friendly and can't do enough to help.
As if that wasn't enough, you have the most wonderful wildlife right there, on the doorstep. The opportunity to see the animals when everyone has left the park/ haven't arrived in the morning. The chance to see the sun rise and set over the savannah was something I will never forget.

Room Tip: I very much doubt that there is a "bad" choice here, Our room was along the bottom and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on The Emakoko - we are so pleased that you managed to see so much wildlife in the park.

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying at Emakoko after a few weeks of tents, dust etc and it exceeded by a large margin my lofty expectations. From the lovely staff to the picturesque location and stunning accommodation, there is not a single downside. New Year's Eve dinner was simply elegant and the menu outstanding. Don't make the mistake I did and stay only one night - I was tempted to change my flight home!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on The Emakoko, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are sorry that we did not meet you. If you are ever in Kenya again, please come back!

Many thanks,

Emma & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late evening into Nairobi airport from London, Emakoko was the perfect first stop to our African adventure. On the short drive to the lodge through the Nairobi national park from the airport we were lucky to see the first glimpse of the African wildlife through the headlights on the jeep. It was quite surreal to be in this wonderful environment within minutes of touching down at Nairobi airport! Despite the late hour our host and the staff were there to greet us with a refreshing drink and a warm welcome. It's hard to believe this beautiful lodge nestled down close to the river is such a short drive from Nairobi City with the Cape buffalo dozing under the veranda, giraffe grazing on the nearby trees and a friendly impala watching from the side of the pool as we took an early morning dip!
This was my first visit to Africa and couldn't have asked for a nicer introduction.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is a MUST Stay at the beginning or end of a Safari. Either works but beginning would be recommended. The property literally is directly attached to the Nairobi park and wild animals are at your door! The facility is 5 Star across the board; ambience, meals, accommodations and staff service. We had an absolutely stunning suite(separate building). The deck overlooks wild buffalo, water buck, gazelle, and giraffes. At night a big Hippo grazes on the grass 50 feet from our deck. The food was exceptional and served whenever we arrived from our outings. The hosts/owners, Emma and Anthony, were very involved from when we arrived until when we left. Whatever we needed. This place is a GEM right in the city but totally isolated within the park so it seems like we were in the middle of the safari lands, actually safaris are a regular event at Emakoko, so a perfect place to start a safari. If you are ending a safari, like we were, iut was a perfect place to reflect and enjoy great food, wine and relax, only 40 minutes from the airport Say hi to Lawrence at the bar!

Room Tip: The lower buildings have a great view of the grazing wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent stay here for two nights at the start of our Kenya Safari trip Our first visit to Kenya). The Emakoko worked perfectly for us flying in from the UK on the daytime flight that lands in the late evening. Our flight was delayed for a couple of hours at LHR, so we would not have made any connecting flights into other parts of Kenya if we had not chosen to stay at The Emakoko.

We were met at the airport by Elizaban and driven into the Nairobi National Park. It was obviously dark, but we saw Zebra, impala, Ostrich and a puff adder on the road on the way through the park.

45 minutes after walking out of Nairobi Airport, we were greeted at The Emakoko by Chris (manager, whilst the owners Emma and Anthony were away) and served a light meal before heading to our rooms.

The rooms are stunning and they are huge. The view of the acacia wooded valley the following morning was perfect.

Elizaban was an excellent safari guide in the morning and then Peter took us to the Sheldrick Baby Elephant Rescue Centre in the late afternoon (see separate review). On this safari we saw 3 white rhinos which was very exciting.

Food for the whole stay was excellent. It generally had an Indian theme.

One special thing that we observed was the staff singing happy birthday to another guest. It was 5 minutes of unbridled joy in celebration of this lady's birthday that I wish I had captured on video.

This was a great start to our trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing