We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Flying Safari Kenya October 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flying Safari Kenya October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is a MUST Stay at the beginning or end of a Safari. Either works but beginning would be recommended. The property literally is directly attached to the Nairobi park and wild animals are at your door! The facility is 5 Star across the board; ambience, meals, accommodations and staff service. We had an absolutely stunning suite(separate building). The deck overlooks wild buffalo, water buck, gazelle, and giraffes. At night a big Hippo grazes on the grass 50 feet from our deck. The food was exceptional and served whenever we arrived from our outings. The hosts/owners, Emma and Anthony, were very involved from when we arrived until when we left. Whatever we needed. This place is a GEM right in the city but totally isolated within the park so it seems like we were in the middle of the safari lands, actually safaris are a regular event at Emakoko, so a perfect place to start a safari. If you are ending a safari, like we were, iut was a perfect place to reflect and enjoy great food, wine and relax, only 40 minutes from the airport Say hi to Lawrence at the bar!

Room Tip: The lower buildings have a great view of the grazing wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
63
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent stay here for two nights at the start of our Kenya Safari trip Our first visit to Kenya). The Emakoko worked perfectly for us flying in from the UK on the daytime flight that lands in the late evening. Our flight was delayed for a couple of hours at LHR, so we would not have made any connecting flights into other parts of Kenya if we had not chosen to stay at The Emakoko.

We were met at the airport by Elizaban and driven into the Nairobi National Park. It was obviously dark, but we saw Zebra, impala, Ostrich and a puff adder on the road on the way through the park.

45 minutes after walking out of Nairobi Airport, we were greeted at The Emakoko by Chris (manager, whilst the owners Emma and Anthony were away) and served a light meal before heading to our rooms.

The rooms are stunning and they are huge. The view of the acacia wooded valley the following morning was perfect.

Elizaban was an excellent safari guide in the morning and then Peter took us to the Sheldrick Baby Elephant Rescue Centre in the late afternoon (see separate review). On this safari we saw 3 white rhinos which was very exciting.

Food for the whole stay was excellent. It generally had an Indian theme.

One special thing that we observed was the staff singing happy birthday to another guest. It was 5 minutes of unbridled joy in celebration of this lady's birthday that I wish I had captured on video.

This was a great start to our trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our travel agent with African Springs Safaris had highly recommended the Emakoko Hotel to us, and she was not wrong! We spent two wonderful nights in one of the top floor rooms (well worth the hundred plus steps for the view!!) This is a small boutique hotel that offers outstanding food and service with a personal touch. It was the perfect ending to our two-week stay in Kenya. The rooms are all lovely, with large, comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. The staff was perfect from greeters, to chefs, to our driver Sylvester. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We loved eating our meals on the open-air terrace, and dining by candlelight. (Did i mention the food? Outstanding!!) It is hard to believe you are just 45 minutes from the airport, when you are on the edge of Nairobi National Park in all its beauty. The owners of Emakoko are a lovely young couple who live on the property and mix comfortably with all of the guests. I can't say enough about this beautiful property and the area around it - do yourself a favor and book at the Emakoko!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great - just note that the top sites mean a lot of stairs, climbing a steep hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4kytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a gorgeous property! Driving through the National Park to get there is a great build-up to this lovely spot. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the open design of the lodge is fabulous! Food and ambience are exceptional. Our only mistake was just staying for one night....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesliePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing place, great food, and lovely friendly owners!! It sits right outside of the Nairobi National Park...hippos and other wildlife right outside your terrace. I only wish we had more time to stay there before heading to the Mara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having heard some good reports about the Emakoko, and needing to make an overnight stop in Nairobi, I asked our travel agent to book us a room for the night. BIG mistake! We should have stayed longer!!
The Emakoko was excellent from the moment Sylvester picked us up from Wilson airport to the moment he dropped us off again the next day. Our gracious host, Rachel (who was standing in for Anton and Emma at the time) made us feel very welcome on arrival and made sure we settled in straight away. I loved the décor, the colours and the comfy chairs in the public rooms and our room up on the hillside was large, warm and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the ridge. The walk-in shower was heavenly after a day of travelling with a heap of fresh towels to wrap up in afterwards.
Before dinner, we got to meet the resident impala and watch the hippo down by the river. Both dinner and breakfast were taken in the semi-open dining room, and served up by the helpful and efficient team. After dinner we finished off with coffee in the sitting area by the fire (it was a chilly evening) with Rachel, who sorted out the logistics for our pick up in the morning, before being escorted up to our room for a good night's sleep. Drifting off to sleep listening to the sound of a lion somewhere in the distance - yet so close to a major city centre - was unique.
We had breakfast before Sylvester took us back to Wilson Airport but not before a game drive through the Park in the wonderful early morning light, and it’s not every day you stop to watch rhino and giraffe on your way to catch a flight.
With the location and the facilities that the Emakoko offer, we can see the attraction for visitors stopping on their way to or from a safari, but it’s also definitely worth using as a destination in itself on the edge of Nairobi National Park for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle that is Nairobi. We will definitely be back to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaireB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko at the beginning of our safari. When the safari company told us that we could go on a game drive there, I thought they were joking. With all the wonderful camps we were going to, why would we go on a game drive in Nairobi? Well, we were surprised. There is a lot of game right in the national park next to Nairobi. We have some delightful pictures of rhinos with the Nairobi skyline behind them and of giraffes with airplanes overhead. There was a lot to see and rather than just be a place to hang until our safari started, it was very much a part of the safari. The lodge is a charming place with comfortable rooms and good food and service. If you are going to spend time in Nairobi and you don't want to be in the city, the Emakoko is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing