We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a gorgeous property! Driving through the National Park to get there is a great build-up to this lovely spot. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the open design of the lodge is fabulous! Food and ambience are exceptional. Our only mistake was just staying for one night....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesliePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
61
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing place, great food, and lovely friendly owners!! It sits right outside of the Nairobi National Park...hippos and other wildlife right outside your terrace. I only wish we had more time to stay there before heading to the Mara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having heard some good reports about the Emakoko, and needing to make an overnight stop in Nairobi, I asked our travel agent to book us a room for the night. BIG mistake! We should have stayed longer!!
The Emakoko was excellent from the moment Sylvester picked us up from Wilson airport to the moment he dropped us off again the next day. Our gracious host, Rachel (who was standing in for Anton and Emma at the time) made us feel very welcome on arrival and made sure we settled in straight away. I loved the décor, the colours and the comfy chairs in the public rooms and our room up on the hillside was large, warm and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the ridge. The walk-in shower was heavenly after a day of travelling with a heap of fresh towels to wrap up in afterwards.
Before dinner, we got to meet the resident impala and watch the hippo down by the river. Both dinner and breakfast were taken in the semi-open dining room, and served up by the helpful and efficient team. After dinner we finished off with coffee in the sitting area by the fire (it was a chilly evening) with Rachel, who sorted out the logistics for our pick up in the morning, before being escorted up to our room for a good night's sleep. Drifting off to sleep listening to the sound of a lion somewhere in the distance - yet so close to a major city centre - was unique.
We had breakfast before Sylvester took us back to Wilson Airport but not before a game drive through the Park in the wonderful early morning light, and it’s not every day you stop to watch rhino and giraffe on your way to catch a flight.
With the location and the facilities that the Emakoko offer, we can see the attraction for visitors stopping on their way to or from a safari, but it’s also definitely worth using as a destination in itself on the edge of Nairobi National Park for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle that is Nairobi. We will definitely be back to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaireB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko at the beginning of our safari. When the safari company told us that we could go on a game drive there, I thought they were joking. With all the wonderful camps we were going to, why would we go on a game drive in Nairobi? Well, we were surprised. There is a lot of game right in the national park next to Nairobi. We have some delightful pictures of rhinos with the Nairobi skyline behind them and of giraffes with airplanes overhead. There was a lot to see and rather than just be a place to hang until our safari started, it was very much a part of the safari. The lodge is a charming place with comfortable rooms and good food and service. If you are going to spend time in Nairobi and you don't want to be in the city, the Emakoko is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the Emakoko as our final stop before flying home from Nairobi. We were very happy with our choice vs. staying in other parts of Nairobi. Some of our family were suffering from exhaustion and a little too much of Africa after two plus weeks in the bush (we are all around 70) and too tired to even go out to the nearby Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage as my wife and I did, but those who stayed were content to just hang out at the lodge all day as the setting is so beautiful. Anton, Emma and their staff were always around and helpful. Sylvester, our driver, was exceptionally caring and helpful. One negative with the rooms was that on a hot day (no A/C and thus windows open) the mosquitos did get into the room and inflicted some damage to all of us despite our counterattack with Doom.

Room Tip: BEWARE: the rooms on the top level require climbing well over 100 steps! My wife and I took that roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with very helpful feedback, we will look into all of the issues that you have raised and hope that should you come back you will see a difference.

Many thanks
Anthony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This lodge is comparable to none in Nairobi in terms of its location,service and the the staff in general.we stayed just for two nights prior to our safari to the Mara.We were a family of 5 that is my mum,dad and 2 brothers.we were met at the airport by Sylvester who was our guide throughout our stay in emakoko and we must admit that this guy was a sort of magician with his job when it came to guiding us through an evening game drive in the Nairobi national park because my brothers wanted to see nothing but lions at a kill feeding and when they told him,he just laughed and said that he is always patient with nature and appreciates what nature offers him at such times.We thought he was kidding but after showing us 3 rhinos and moving around the national park for approximately half an hour,he pulled up 3 lionesses and 4 juveniles feeding on a dead zebra to the amazement of my teenage brothers,my parents and I.This made us speechless because we couldn't figure out how he was able to tell where the kill was.It was so spectacular and for that we learnt to be patient with nature and to follow our instincts throughout our safari as taught by Sylvester.We cant wait to return to this wonderful lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to starting our safari in Tanzania as we wanted to visit the Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. What a delightful surprise from the moment we were greeted by Rachael and the staff.

They do their utmost to meet or exceed your every need. Chef Steve is amazing! Our guide Eliziban has a passion for nature and willingly shares his knowledge with you. He ensured that we saw any beast we wanted too. He knows every inch of Nairobi National Park and every favorite spot of each animal.

The entrance to the lodge is unsurpassed. Step one is a 20 minute drive through the park. Giraffes, Ostriches, Zebras, Buffalo all greet you along the path. Step 2 is a 75' footbridge across a river to the lodge where several people are all lined up to welcome you to their home.

In the evening a local hippo climbs up from the river to munch on grass beside you as you dine in their open air restaurant. And when you leave Pallo the resident baby impala insists on a scratch or a cuddle.

Be prepared to be awoken from your sleep by the roar of a lion you hope is on the other side of the river.

If I could I would give this lodge 10 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arewethereyet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing