We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best choice for Nairobi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best choice for Nairobi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the Emakoko as our final stop before flying home from Nairobi. We were very happy with our choice vs. staying in other parts of Nairobi. Some of our family were suffering from exhaustion and a little too much of Africa after two plus weeks in the bush (we are all around 70) and too tired to even go out to the nearby Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage as my wife and I did, but those who stayed were content to just hang out at the lodge all day as the setting is so beautiful. Anton, Emma and their staff were always around and helpful. Sylvester, our driver, was exceptionally caring and helpful. One negative with the rooms was that on a hot day (no A/C and thus windows open) the mosquitos did get into the room and inflicted some damage to all of us despite our counterattack with Doom.

Room Tip: BEWARE: the rooms on the top level require climbing well over 100 steps! My wife and I took that roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with very helpful feedback, we will look into all of the issues that you have raised and hope that should you come back you will see a difference.

Many thanks
Anthony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
63
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This lodge is comparable to none in Nairobi in terms of its location,service and the the staff in general.we stayed just for two nights prior to our safari to the Mara.We were a family of 5 that is my mum,dad and 2 brothers.we were met at the airport by Sylvester who was our guide throughout our stay in emakoko and we must admit that this guy was a sort of magician with his job when it came to guiding us through an evening game drive in the Nairobi national park because my brothers wanted to see nothing but lions at a kill feeding and when they told him,he just laughed and said that he is always patient with nature and appreciates what nature offers him at such times.We thought he was kidding but after showing us 3 rhinos and moving around the national park for approximately half an hour,he pulled up 3 lionesses and 4 juveniles feeding on a dead zebra to the amazement of my teenage brothers,my parents and I.This made us speechless because we couldn't figure out how he was able to tell where the kill was.It was so spectacular and for that we learnt to be patient with nature and to follow our instincts throughout our safari as taught by Sylvester.We cant wait to return to this wonderful lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to starting our safari in Tanzania as we wanted to visit the Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. What a delightful surprise from the moment we were greeted by Rachael and the staff.

They do their utmost to meet or exceed your every need. Chef Steve is amazing! Our guide Eliziban has a passion for nature and willingly shares his knowledge with you. He ensured that we saw any beast we wanted too. He knows every inch of Nairobi National Park and every favorite spot of each animal.

The entrance to the lodge is unsurpassed. Step one is a 20 minute drive through the park. Giraffes, Ostriches, Zebras, Buffalo all greet you along the path. Step 2 is a 75' footbridge across a river to the lodge where several people are all lined up to welcome you to their home.

In the evening a local hippo climbs up from the river to munch on grass beside you as you dine in their open air restaurant. And when you leave Pallo the resident baby impala insists on a scratch or a cuddle.

Be prepared to be awoken from your sleep by the roar of a lion you hope is on the other side of the river.

If I could I would give this lodge 10 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arewethereyet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were stranded in Nairobi as a result of the JKIA fire. Our agent arranged for us to stay at the Emakoko in the Nairobi National Park. You can't believe that such a fantastic hotel/lodge can be so close to Nairobi and yet be so peaceful. We cannot rate the staff highly enough - they were all so friendly and smiling and welcoming. The food was absolutely delicious and both the owners and the kitchen staff were incredibly accommodating with our extremely fussy teenager's dislikes of various foods.... nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in the middle of Nairobi on other occasions, I would choose the Emakoko at every opportunity instead. We were disappointed with our trip to Zanzibar being cancelled because of the fire, but the Emakoko was a welcome respite from all the chaos.

Room Tip: All the rooms I'm sure are all as beautifully done as our three rooms were, but if you are perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We added an extra night at the beginning of our holiday to allow for any problems during our travel from North America, and since we had two nights in the Nairobi area, Emakoko was recommended as a great place to start our safari. We arrived late and the warm welcome was the perfect start to our holiday. The management and staff at Emakoko were fantastic and after only two days we felt like we were leaving family behind. The rooms, food, and attention to detail were all incredible. This was our first trip to Africa and after a few minutes at Emakoko any worries we had were long gone!

Being surrounded by a major city, Nairobi National Park is a real surprise. During our short visit we thoroughly enjoyed our safari drives with close-up sightings of Giraffe, Zebra, Lion, White Rhino, and many other animals. Our Emakoko guide, Newton, was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.

Our vacation in Kenya was absolutely incredible and we are already planning a return trip. When we do, we will certainly plan a stay at Emakoko as part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Nairobi. Serene, peaceful and soothing stay just 20 minute s out of the chaos of Nairobi. Within 15 minutes of the airport was in the middle of the African savanah - watching zebras, giraffes, ostriches and wild hogs as we drove through the Nairobi National Park to get to the lodge. The room given to me was on the ridge with a breathtaking view from the balcony and a bathtub overlooking the park....just awesome. The candlelight dinner was also perfect and, as I was fasting, the requested breakfast service at 5 am was on the dot. Overall , it was a perfect stay. Within a day of long flights and jet lag.....I feel reinvigorated and freshened up to take on the Nairobi chaos. Don't miss it if you come to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIN586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

An amazing lodge run by 2 energetic fun loving managers Anton and Emma. The lodge is beautifully designed in the heart of the park making it a perfect get away from the city centre or a last night stop before going a short peaceful drive to the airport only 20-25 mins away. Fantastic food. Superb staff. Wild life all around you.... Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 190 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing