We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to starting our safari in Tanzania as we wanted to visit the Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. What a delightful surprise from the moment we were greeted by Rachael and the staff.

They do their utmost to meet or exceed your every need. Chef Steve is amazing! Our guide Eliziban has a passion for nature and willingly shares his knowledge with you. He ensured that we saw any beast we wanted too. He knows every inch of Nairobi National Park and every favorite spot of each animal.

The entrance to the lodge is unsurpassed. Step one is a 20 minute drive through the park. Giraffes, Ostriches, Zebras, Buffalo all greet you along the path. Step 2 is a 75' footbridge across a river to the lodge where several people are all lined up to welcome you to their home.

In the evening a local hippo climbs up from the river to munch on grass beside you as you dine in their open air restaurant. And when you leave Pallo the resident baby impala insists on a scratch or a cuddle.

Be prepared to be awoken from your sleep by the roar of a lion you hope is on the other side of the river.

If I could I would give this lodge 10 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arewethereyet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
64
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were stranded in Nairobi as a result of the JKIA fire. Our agent arranged for us to stay at the Emakoko in the Nairobi National Park. You can't believe that such a fantastic hotel/lodge can be so close to Nairobi and yet be so peaceful. We cannot rate the staff highly enough - they were all so friendly and smiling and welcoming. The food was absolutely delicious and both the owners and the kitchen staff were incredibly accommodating with our extremely fussy teenager's dislikes of various foods.... nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in the middle of Nairobi on other occasions, I would choose the Emakoko at every opportunity instead. We were disappointed with our trip to Zanzibar being cancelled because of the fire, but the Emakoko was a welcome respite from all the chaos.

Room Tip: All the rooms I'm sure are all as beautifully done as our three rooms were, but if you are perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We added an extra night at the beginning of our holiday to allow for any problems during our travel from North America, and since we had two nights in the Nairobi area, Emakoko was recommended as a great place to start our safari. We arrived late and the warm welcome was the perfect start to our holiday. The management and staff at Emakoko were fantastic and after only two days we felt like we were leaving family behind. The rooms, food, and attention to detail were all incredible. This was our first trip to Africa and after a few minutes at Emakoko any worries we had were long gone!

Being surrounded by a major city, Nairobi National Park is a real surprise. During our short visit we thoroughly enjoyed our safari drives with close-up sightings of Giraffe, Zebra, Lion, White Rhino, and many other animals. Our Emakoko guide, Newton, was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.

Our vacation in Kenya was absolutely incredible and we are already planning a return trip. When we do, we will certainly plan a stay at Emakoko as part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Nairobi. Serene, peaceful and soothing stay just 20 minute s out of the chaos of Nairobi. Within 15 minutes of the airport was in the middle of the African savanah - watching zebras, giraffes, ostriches and wild hogs as we drove through the Nairobi National Park to get to the lodge. The room given to me was on the ridge with a breathtaking view from the balcony and a bathtub overlooking the park....just awesome. The candlelight dinner was also perfect and, as I was fasting, the requested breakfast service at 5 am was on the dot. Overall , it was a perfect stay. Within a day of long flights and jet lag.....I feel reinvigorated and freshened up to take on the Nairobi chaos. Don't miss it if you come to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIN586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

An amazing lodge run by 2 energetic fun loving managers Anton and Emma. The lodge is beautifully designed in the heart of the park making it a perfect get away from the city centre or a last night stop before going a short peaceful drive to the airport only 20-25 mins away. Fantastic food. Superb staff. Wild life all around you.... Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you're staying in the Nairobi area you can't beat the Emakoko.
We recently spent 2 nights there at the end of a lengthy safari
adventure and it was the perfect send-off for our trip. The setting
is wonderful as is the cabin. It is large and well furnished and
affords excellent views of the landscape while maintaining your
privacy. We had a lower unit which worked well for us "seniors."
We checked out the cabins on the upper lever &, while providing
a beautiful vista, we were happy with our cabin situation closer
to the main lodge. Emma and Anton are perfect hosts. Anton
joined us for several meals & arranged for a wonderful dinner
on the lawn while we listened to a hippo and many buffalo graze
not far away. The other staff members are equally personable
and made us feel quite at home. Our thanks to Chris with whom
we exchanged "war stories" over a drink And, our thanks to
Elizaban who handled the airport transfers and park game drives.
He also drove us to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, one of
many unforgettable experiences on the trip. We will certainly
recommend Emakoko to family/friends traveling to the area and
we hope to return in a few years. Thanks Anton and good luck
on the soccer field.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joefish925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Emakoko is the very best when it comes to speciality lodging in Nairobi. It has a feeling of being deep in the forest while so close to the city. We got to hear lions roar in the night while only 30 minutes away from the city.
The managers Anton & Emma pay attention to the finest detail. They personally met us and showed us around. The honeymoon suite that my husband had booked for a surprise was superbly finished and very comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The meals were nicely presented, though we felt the variety was limited.
The water in the showers and baths was just slightly above warm.
Overall a very pleasant stay there.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level. The view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angienai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing