We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An amazing birthday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An amazing birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for just one night at Emakoko for his birthday and it was perfect. The staff were very attentive and professional. The meals were delicious and beautifully presented. The grounds and the pool were expertly looked after. Our room was very comfortable with a gorgeous view. We live in Nairobi and it was so nice to get away and see the beauty of Kenya. We can't wait to come back! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afine32889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
61
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

the Nairobi Park has always been, since childhood, a very special place for me. Since the opening of the Emakoko it is even more special! We have now been there twice and we plan to visit often. Emma and Anton are lovely hosts, the lodge is luxurious but comfortable at the same time, the staff are cheerful and attentive but not overly and the joy of being in the bush but not that far from home is a huge plus for those of us living in Nairobi. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What an excellent trip we just had to the Emakoko. Everyone was incredibly hospitable and the hotel itself is beautiful. We didn't get a chance to meet Emma and Anton but Chris and Rachel were excellent hosts in their place. We decided to make a last minute trip and Chris was extremely helpful working out the details the day before we arrived. Sylvester was an excellent guide; he was very knowledgable about the park and always willing to answer our questions. On our last day, we hadn't yet seen any lions and Sylvester made sure we saw two male lions on the drive to the airport. This was also our first trip with our 3 month old baby and we couldn't have asked for a better vacation!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level might be better for families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko for 3 nights in February with a large group of 20, when we visited Kenya for my daughter's wedding, which the Emakoko also hosted. The managers, Emma and Anton, were unbelievable - they were so on top of everything - from organizing transfers for all the guests, to amazing and creative menus that accommodated everyone's dietary requirements (we had one vegan, one gluten free, two vegetarians, and all picky eaters, and all the food was delicious), to organizing game drives and visits to the elephant orphanage and giraffe center.

Everything was absolutely perfect and made the whole wedding absolutely seamless - despite I'm sure what was a nightmare in planning! Not only that but Emma and Anton are just delightful to be around and everyone really enjoyed getting to know them. The Emakoko was 100% a highlight of our trip - made us feel completely at home and utterly cared for, so we didn't have to worry about anything. The property is breathtaking, the game drives were exciting (lion, rhino, tons of plains game), the rooms were large, well appointed, beautifully furnished, with beautiful views and huge tubs, the staff were so kind and attentive - we cannot wait to go back and would highly recommend to anyone!!!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have sprawling views, but would recommend a lower room for those who might have tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was recently on a short business trip to Kenya. I wanted to do a bit of Game viewing and my work colleagues recommended a stay at Emakoko. I only had one night but they picked me up early and took me on a game drive en-route to the Hotel. The lodge itself is a delight. It is perched on a hillside with an outlook over the river which bounds the park. At night I slept with my doors wide open, letting in the sounds of the night. the food was perfect, and the hosts, Anton and Emma mde me feel very welcome. I took three game drives and was blown away by the diverstiy of game. In the evening we ate our dinner by the pool while some staff kept a watchful eye on a hippo and a buffalo which had strayed a bit close. At no time in my stay did I feel like I was close to a major city. I will come back with my family - I can't imagine a better way to start and finish a trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 524AlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The choice of Embakoko lodge on the last day of our Kenyan safari in Nairobi turned out to be excellent and we did see black and white Rhino, albeit at a distance. The lodge itself is stunning and very upscale with period photographs of old Nairobi and the park on the walls. The food and service was excellent and the fact its located about 25 minutes from the international airport makes it a perfect location for the last day, or the first day assuming you have a full day in Nairobi on the way in. Emma and Anton were also great hosts and despite the short time (8 hours) there, it was a wonderful farewell to our safari. I still remember the lovely dinner with scores of hurricane lamps near the pool and the sounds of animals from the park making it seem we were far from civilization.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from Kenya andEthiopia and had the great pleasure of staying at Emakoko at the beginning of our trip and at the end. It was perfection across the board. From the moment we were met at the airport to returning us to the airport we were met with kindness, expertise, comfort and great adventure. The food was superb and the staff was terrific. Emma and Anton a treat. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieB353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing