We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list
The Emakoko
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko for 3 nights in February with a large group of 20, when we visited Kenya for my daughter's wedding, which the Emakoko also hosted. The managers, Emma and Anton, were unbelievable - they were so on top of everything - from organizing transfers for all the guests, to amazing and creative menus that accommodated everyone's dietary requirements (we had one vegan, one gluten free, two vegetarians, and all picky eaters, and all the food was delicious), to organizing game drives and visits to the elephant orphanage and giraffe center.

Everything was absolutely perfect and made the whole wedding absolutely seamless - despite I'm sure what was a nightmare in planning! Not only that but Emma and Anton are just delightful to be around and everyone really enjoyed getting to know them. The Emakoko was 100% a highlight of our trip - made us feel completely at home and utterly cared for, so we didn't have to worry about anything. The property is breathtaking, the game drives were exciting (lion, rhino, tons of plains game), the rooms were large, well appointed, beautifully furnished, with beautiful views and huge tubs, the staff were so kind and attentive - we cannot wait to go back and would highly recommend to anyone!!!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have sprawling views, but would recommend a lower room for those who might have tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was recently on a short business trip to Kenya. I wanted to do a bit of Game viewing and my work colleagues recommended a stay at Emakoko. I only had one night but they picked me up early and took me on a game drive en-route to the Hotel. The lodge itself is a delight. It is perched on a hillside with an outlook over the river which bounds the park. At night I slept with my doors wide open, letting in the sounds of the night. the food was perfect, and the hosts, Anton and Emma mde me feel very welcome. I took three game drives and was blown away by the diverstiy of game. In the evening we ate our dinner by the pool while some staff kept a watchful eye on a hippo and a buffalo which had strayed a bit close. At no time in my stay did I feel like I was close to a major city. I will come back with my family - I can't imagine a better way to start and finish a trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 524AlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The choice of Embakoko lodge on the last day of our Kenyan safari in Nairobi turned out to be excellent and we did see black and white Rhino, albeit at a distance. The lodge itself is stunning and very upscale with period photographs of old Nairobi and the park on the walls. The food and service was excellent and the fact its located about 25 minutes from the international airport makes it a perfect location for the last day, or the first day assuming you have a full day in Nairobi on the way in. Emma and Anton were also great hosts and despite the short time (8 hours) there, it was a wonderful farewell to our safari. I still remember the lovely dinner with scores of hurricane lamps near the pool and the sounds of animals from the park making it seem we were far from civilization.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from Kenya andEthiopia and had the great pleasure of staying at Emakoko at the beginning of our trip and at the end. It was perfection across the board. From the moment we were met at the airport to returning us to the airport we were met with kindness, expertise, comfort and great adventure. The food was superb and the staff was terrific. Emma and Anton a treat. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieB353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko for two nights and we must let the whole world knows about the unmatched hospitality we got from this wonderful Lodge.we met at the airport by Sylvester,helped us with our luggage into his custom built Toyota land cruiser truck and briefed us on the short journey to the Lodge.He was really polite,friendly,soft spoken and highly conversant with the wildlife in the park.
We saw a white rhino,jackals and aard wolf by the road on our way to the Lodge though it was at night and we felt like we were doing a night game drive and that was so cool.Once we arrived we found Anton with other staff members who ushered us in carrying our bags and leading us across the foot bridge across the river into Emakoko.The food was perfect and the rooms too.
The following day we had an early morning game drive with Sylvester and he showed us the lions,more rhinos,zebras,lots of giraffes,impalas,harterbeests,acroc,hippo n water birds.
We also visited the elephant orphanage,Karen blixen museum and curio shops.
We departed for Serengeti to continue our safari wishing that we could stay longer at this marvelous Lodge,thank you so much Anton,Sylvester and the rest of the team at emakoko surely we must come back this time it will be Purely Emakoko.Happy New year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Emakoko for two days in September either side of a trip to the Mara and Mauritius.

The lodge is built on a small valley just outside Nairobi national park. There are lovely views into the park from the lodge and both the communal areas and the lodge has been designed to make the most of its location.

The room was beautiful but what impressed us most was the welcome we received from Anton, Emma and the staff at the lodge. Service was first class and the food was very good.

We went on two game drives both of which were superb. After telling Anton that we hadn't seen any rhino he found 12 for us in around an hour!

We'd definitely recommend staying here and plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon-Brenda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited the Emakoko on December 29th 2012, staying just one night before a horse riding safari. Unfortunately my flight was very delayed which was a real shame as I would have loved to have stayed longer in this lovely lodge. However the short time I spent was super; I was 'meeted and greeted' by Elizaban at the airport and driven straight to the lodge where I enjoyed an excellent lunch. Even though I was really only ready for a rest I went for a game drive in the afternoon where I had my best sighting of a Serval cat to date, an unexpected bonus with pictures to prove it! Back at the lodge my room was excellent; I did not mind a climb as the view was worth it! Plenty of space, a very comfortable bed and a bath overlooking the valley (plus giraffe!). Emma was a warm and gracious hostess and made me feel very welcome. Indeed all the staff were great and treated me very well. The food was very good and the lodge catered very well for me as a vegetarian. I would not hesitate to recommend the Emakoko to people visiting Nairobi, just be sure to give yourself enough time to really enjoy the Emakoko experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LucyGamoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing